psu trouble

Associate
OP
Joined
2 Feb 2007
Posts
30
penitum 4 3.2ghz

512mb RAM... waiting on another 512mb

Radeon x300 but ready to install a GF 7600 GT... wanted to get the PSU working first

CD RW and seporate DVD RW

Card reader

160 GB hard drive

yada yada
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Feb 2007
Posts
30
its still making a buzzing... I'll try having each device on a seporate cable... and failing that... if I out the new graphics card in that will drain more power...
 
Associate
Joined
23 Oct 2002
Posts
1,684
Location
Moseley
You have taken reasonable steps to test this PSU. Anything further endangers the rest of your components in my opinion. Call OCuk and ask for further advice and the possibility of RMAing it for a replacement.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Feb 2007
Posts
30
I've sent them an email...

is it possible for a PSU to be TO powerful for a computer... because everyone I am talking to is saying its because there is to much power going to to fewer devices? and I just think it sounds like rubbish

I understand the power needing to be distrubuted... but not that a PSU can be to powerful... only if you go above and beyond
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Feb 2007
Posts
30
overclockers are doing an RMA and I'll be sending it off tomorrow...

on the chance of the next one having the same problem... what should I do!?
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Feb 2007
Posts
30
new PSU arrived today... but now my pc won't boot!

a week back I installed a new graphics card (GF7600) and the new PSU (corsair 520w)... both worked fine but the PSU buzzed... so I got an RMA... new PSU arrived today... installed it having not touched my computer for a week and now it won't boot... there is no beep so the bios isn't kicking in... but the fan on the graphics card, the HDD and CD drives are all working... ???
 
Associate
OP
Joined
2 Feb 2007
Posts
30
I put the old GFX card back in (radeon x300)... nada... can't do anything else with it really... double and triple checked all the connections... repeatidly removed the 4 and 24pin mobo connecters... I think I might cry!... I want my pc back!

Was tempted to try either kicking it or hitting it with a hammer..... but I don;t think that would help...

and doesn't the pc need to be on to reset the Cmos?
 
Back
Top Bottom