Pulling my hair out over pipex 8mb upgrade, help plz?

Soldato
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
Hi,

I recently upgraded to pipex 8mb as they offered me a special deal to stay with them. I'm now connected at 8128 down 448 upstream and yet my ip profile has never moved from the 2000 it was on before I ugpraded.

I've made several phone calls to pipex, and they've told me lots of different things - including the line keeps dropping (well its dropped a few times, each time when I've disconnected the bloody thing - stupid people) :mad:

I rang up yesterday and kept badgering about the line profile being wrong and they told me "unplug the router from the socket and leave it disconnected overnight" - apparently it would fix it.

Well it hasn't :( . What can I tell the next operator I speak to to get it fixed. So far have spent close to two hours with them suggesting a load of rubbish and nothing ever working!

Thanks for any help :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
Here are some router stats if they help - I've just noticed one of my stats is pretty poor?

SNR Margin 14 23 dB
Line Attenuation 15 9 dB
Data Rate 8128 448 kbps
 
Caporegime
Joined
16 May 2003
Posts
25,368
Location
::1
None of those stats are poor.
You just need to keep badgering Pipex to either get the IP profile reset or give you a MAC key.
 
Associate
Joined
19 Sep 2006
Posts
387
Location
London
Hi

If you upgraded more than 4 days ago then advise them that you have a stuck IP profile and that they need to run a DLS Status check on the line using Woosh this will confirm the BRAS profile and sync rate are not consistent, get them to run this while you are on the phone. They then need to raise a fault and BT should be able to resolve the issue very quickly.

Also you mightr want to run a BT Speedtest before you call them so you can say you have as they may tell you to run one and the speed test will also show the IP profile your line is current using so you can hit back if they say you are on a different profile. If you profile is stuck and you were on 2Mb before it should state that your IP profile is 2000

If the agent refuses to do this then ask for the issue to be escalated as the BT speed tester has confirmed what your IP prifle is.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
Thanks very much for all your replies, I was hoping you'd reply tolien! Appreciate the detailed reply Homer, noticed you seem to give a fair bit back to the forum I must say :)

Ringing now ;)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
I rang them and asked for a woosh test, which he toddled off and did - then agreed the sync rates and profile didn't match. He said this could take 1-6 days to fix, normally 48 hours. Does that sound correct to you guys?

Cheers for your help :)
 
Associate
Joined
25 Jan 2003
Posts
2,283
Location
Weston-Super-Mare
I had the same thing happen to me with Plusnet, profile stuck on 2000 while connecting at 5568, i posted in the relevant forum on ADSLguide.co.uk (now thinkbroadband.com) at half past midnight, by 8:15am a PN CS guy saw my post and made a few adjustments to my account, i rebooted my router as instructed and wooooosh my speed was surpassing 4.5megs !!

:)

Proof
 
Associate
Joined
19 Sep 2006
Posts
387
Location
London
Hi

If the speed has not updated within 48 hours of you calling then give them a ring as normally once the fault is actually raised within BT the turn around inside BT is pretty quick and all BT need to do is change the BRAS config.

The 1 - 6 days Pipex quoted would be to allow delays in them raising the fault with BT and if BT do nto fix the issue straight away but I owuld still chase after 48 hours anyway.

No ISP that is on the BT Wholesale network has direct access to the BRAS setting so any issues with the BRAS eg Stuck Profile have to be raised as a fault into BTW.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
Thanks once again for the detailed reply, I rang them today and they said there is currently a fault at the exchange which bt have to first fix before they can reset my profile. The guy said to ring back on monday for an update on the situation! :)

Thanks again :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
Hello again,

I've been on the phone to them the last few days. The guy is now telling me that they haven't and won't reset the profile because thats not the issue. He says its normal for it to connect at 8128 and have an IP profile of 2000. Anything I can do to get this fixed? I told him I'd take my custom elsewhere and he said I'd have exactly the same problem elsewhere - Bullxxxx :mad:

Thanks for any help :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
Unfortunately I'm trapped I think in a 12 month contract. The only thing in my favour is that my speeds are actually slower than they were previously on 1mb. The guy on the phone was a complete pita to be honest. "THE BOTTOM LINE IS, THE BOTTOM LINE IS"

The bottom line is they are useless to me, he denied that due to the sync rate and ip profile being so inconsistant that there is a problem. :mad: :mad:
 
Associate
Joined
2 Dec 2002
Posts
1,611
You need to talk to someone in possession of a clue :)

The Whoosh test is definitive for determining that fault and they should have logged it as such with BT.

If someone is just logging it as a 'speed problem' BT will just close the fault every time as the sync is too high to qualify as a fault on the grounds of speed.

You're going to have to try and find someone there that will listen and act rather than argue.

May take a while ...
 
Associate
Joined
19 Sep 2006
Posts
387
Location
London
Hi Mike

If you are OK with sending me the details of the ADSL number and the name the account is in I will see if any of my contacts at Pipex are feeling nice and will have a look at it or not for me.

Just let me know if you are OK with giving me the info and I will see and then get back to you as to if I can do anything and if I can then will get the details from you then.

OR if you want to have fun with Pipex then run another BT Speedtest to confirm the IP Profile on the line and if still 2000 then give them a ring.

Demand to speak to a team leader or L2 and ask them to run the DSL Status check which again will show them the IP profile. Now get them to run a BRAS DSLAM Consistency Check again this is done via Woosh and can be done with you on the line as your Sync rate and BRAS are out of kilter this will come back and advise them of a BT fault.

TELL them to raise a Fault for EPP (Enduser Poor Performance) as the BRAS profile and Sync rates are inconsistent.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
Thanks both of you for the nice replies, HomerJ - If your contact is Kevin, he probably never wants to speak to me again! The way he spoke to me was quite frankly downright rude also. He said they wouldn't look into it any further until I could prove I had slow speeds.

Is my best bet to get them to remove my fault log and ring again in a weeks time or try and speak to someone else?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
I've just done a few speedtests after getting home from work, and my download speed has dropped from the 200ish k/sec I was getting to the awful speed below. It used to show 19xx kb/s and now its down to 877. Can anyone explain to me whats going on?





Stats from stupid BT Speed test thing. (download speed used to be nearly 2000)



Router line stats

 
Associate
Joined
19 Sep 2006
Posts
387
Location
London
Hi


Your line stats from the router are very good and unless you are getting drops in sync you should be on a 7Mb profile and getting throughput nearer to 5 - 6 Mb

If would ring them back and escalate the issue the BT speed test proves you are getting a 2000 IP profile yet your sync rate in 8128K. On your router you should have a section that should the connection up time and if this is more than 3 days then when you call them back you can state that the connection has been stable at 8128K for over 3 days yet the BRAS has not updated and they need to raise a fault.

They should also be able to see the sync rate history on your line which will hopefully confirm that you are not getting any drops in sync. You may want to ask that they send you a copy of this by email. The report they need to run is in BBCR and is called Max End User Summary Report I would ask them to run ot for the last 4 days as this will show up any changes in the sync rate and BRAS that have been caused on the line.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
22 Dec 2002
Posts
10,165
Location
Minehead
HomerJ,

You sir are a star. I spoke to someone there about it, read off what you said and they went through everything, the fault is indeed being raised as EPP! If I can get it sorted based on the information you've provided me with, a paypal pint or two will be on its way to you :)
 
Associate
Joined
19 Sep 2006
Posts
387
Location
London
Hi Mike

Has your speed improved yet if not then get back on the phone to Pipex as BT would have updated the fault by now. Run a BT Speedtest before you ring and check what the IP profile is set to.

No worries about the beer just glad can try and be some help. ALos I hate it when tech support try and give the run around.
 
Back
Top Bottom