Pump Help

Associate
Afternoon,

I currently have a EK Res/Pump combo (EK-XRES 140 Revo), however the pump has had it, grinds, rattles the case, loop has little bits of plastic crap in, the pump is that loud when at 100% the wife can hear it through the walls, however if i set it at low RPM it's fine.

My question is, it's currently this pump: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/ek-w...pump-motor-with-sleeved-cables-wc-9vh-ek.html - However it's out of stock, are all D5 pumps universal or is this pump taylored to this res?

Any recommendations would be much apprenticed

All the best

Matt

Associate
I have that exact same pump/res combo. Did you use/try the additional rubber damper that came with it? That might help a bit, although it does sound like there is something wrong, as mine on full tilt makes no noise at all.

I'm no expert on pumps + tops, but my understanding is that the manufacturers add their own tops to the pumps, so they can be utilized on their various res's etc. You can also get "naked" pumps, onto which you can add your own tops etc.

It stands to reason then that that pump should work with the res you have, although as the REVO is now EOL, I am not 100% sure. You could ask EK directly, I am sure they would point you in the right direction.

Associate
OP
I have that exact same pump/res combo. Did you use/try the additional rubber damper that came with it? That might help a bit, although it does sound like there is something wrong, as mine on full tilt makes no noise at all.

I'm no expert on pumps + tops, but my understanding is that the manufacturers add their own tops to the pumps, so they can be utilized on their various res's etc. You can also get "naked" pumps, onto which you can add your own tops etc.

It stands to reason then that that pump should work with the res you have, although as the REVO is now EOL, I am not 100% sure. You could ask EK directly, I am sure they would point you in the right direction.