1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

QPI/DRAM voltage?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by sculptor, Mar 13, 2011.

  1. sculptor

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2005

    Posts: 572

    Location: Guisborough

    I upgraded my i7 920 system with an Asus Sabertooth mobo and 12GB G Skill ram, previously had Gigabyte X58 DS3R and 6GB Patriot Viper ram.
    I have set the QPI/DRAM voltage to 1.35v just wondering if I need to lower this as the G Skill is rated at 1.5v whereas the Patriot Viper was 1.65v

    sculptor:)
     
  2. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    1.3-1.35 is the norm.
     
  3. sculptor

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2005

    Posts: 572

    Location: Guisborough

    Thanks for your reply w3bbo,
    Yes thats what I thought, just wondered with the ram having lower voltage if the QPI should be lower aswell. Ill try it at 1.30v and if all is OK then that will do.
    sculptor:)
     
  4. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    Ram voltage doesn't have much an effect on what you should set your QPI to.

    Faster ram genereally requires a higher QPI voltage. For example my OCZ Blade 2000mhz Cas 7 require 1.45QPI whereas stock corsair 1600 Cas9 only require 1.25.
     
  5. sculptor

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2005

    Posts: 572

    Location: Guisborough

    Thanks again mate,
    Lowered it to 1.30v, its running IBT, custom 10600MB x 8 threads and all is well so far. Ill prime it for a couple of hours later to make sure its stable but its looking good, bonus CPU temps have dropped a couple of degrees.
    sculptor:)