RAID Configuration help needed!

Associate
Hi,

I bought a PC from here moon's ago for a client and it's been brilliant - however (we are talking 6 years!) the CMOS battery died and the RAID config has all been reset in the BIOS and so, guess what, the PC won't boot now.

It's a long time since I configured it and whilst my background is tech, it seems with age the holes get bigger in the head and things get forgotten. If anyone on here can help jog my memory on how to reconfigure, happy to share details of hardware, and help get this computer booting again I'd be forever grateful!

Thanks in advance - meanwhile I shall continue exploring the internet and recesses of my mind!

Su

Associate
OP
There isn’t a raid option! Looks like it only sees one of the 2 disks as well in the BIOS - is that because they were mirrored? The bios config just doesn’t give me RAiD options at all - there weren’t any hardware problems prior to the bios reset - but now comes up with pxe-e61media test failure - ive checked all cables etc… no joy

Soldato
Spec of the system might be helpful if you want a diagnosis over the internet. Are you using the onboard RAID controller in the chipset, or a separate RAID card in a PCIe slot?

In those circumstances I would go with watercooledman and look to switch the storage settings in the BIOS from the default settings to back to RAID.

Associate
If it was simple RAID1 then chances are it might boot if you swap the sata cables over. Try each disk in turn individually as well. If it was RAID0 then you're out of luck.

Soldato
Most on board raid setups have a separate config in the bios. Usually early in the bios start you get to press something like CTRL I to enter it. Worth reading the motherboard manual at the manufacturers web site.

Associate
OP
Thanks everyone! I'll get back to you with the spec / MB, and will try the Ctrl-I! Sorry for the rushed messages, should have put more detail in to begin with!

Associate
OP