1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Random black screen shutdowns

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xBLiNG, 9 Mar 2015.

  1. xBLiNG

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Feb 2010

    Posts: 1,288

    Location: Liverpool

    So I upgraded from a 5770 to the 290 windforce in the rig in my sig not to long ago, and started experiencing issues, the system will hang for a few seconds, then black screen and restart, I have made sure that I cleared all the drivers from my old card, but that didn't help.

    Next I thought it was the PSU, however it wasn't happening when gaming or doing anything stressful.

    The PSU then died, so I replaced it with a SuperFlower 550w, recommended by many on here, and assumed that was the issue all along, however upon installing the new PSU, I have just had it happen again.

    In event viewer, I see two things I think might be it:

    A fatal hardware error has occurred.
    Component: AMD Northbridge
    Error Source: Machine Check Exception
    Error Type: HyperTransport Watchdog Timeout Error
    Processor ID: 0

    and

    The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. The bugcheck was: 0x00000124 (0x0000000000000000, 0xfffffa80073368f8, 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000).

    I have tried a sfc /scannow, and it found nothing.

    Does this mean the NB on my mobo is dying? Or could it be something else? Neither the CPU or GPU are OCd, and their temps are fine (CPU 34c, GPU 42c) at idle.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
    Last edited: 9 Mar 2015
  2. varkanoid

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Dec 2007

    Posts: 12,136

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    I would make sure you have the latest AMD GPU drivers from AMD website and also the latest AMD chipset drivers before looking at the hardware.
     
  3. xBLiNG

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Feb 2010

    Posts: 1,288

    Location: Liverpool

    Bumping this, still getting the problem, GPU and Chipset drivers are up to date.
     
  4. theforce

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 5 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,150

    Location: Larnaca, Cyprus

    Maybe worth updating your motherboard's bios if you aren't using the latest version? Maybe a clean installation of Windows after that to make sure that it's not something software related?