Rant - London rent prices...

Associate
Now they are seriously getting silly. Why now you're asking? Well it's because I can't really afford it anymore.

I'm a second year uni student. For some reason I get hardly any loan because my Mum met some guy I don't know and so I can't afford to live in London unless I live with my girlfriend in a tiny box room.

I go through finding a place every year and prices just keep going up and up. I don't understand how greedy landlords can get. Not only do you pay huge sums for a single room but they are also awful. Budget with the GF is £1k a month and we're really struggling to find something we can live in. Personally I think two people would naturally work in a 4 bed house not one room but that may be because I grew up in the county in a big house.

Why don't you move further out I hear you say? Well I've looked at ALL options and generally the small savings you get for going a few miles out will be lost in transport costs. If you go to the other extreme of 30miles out you'll pay £400 a month for a railcard to get into London.

This is really ****ing me off as I've always utterly despised sharing with other people and have been 'floating' from place to place with all my possessions in boxes - it's really not nice. I think I want to get out of London but I still got two years of uni left at least. I might move to Sweden afterwards and get out of this country all together!

Rant over, please continue with your day ;). But really. How much further can they go?

Associate
OP
It's London, a capital city. What was you expecting?!?!!

Sure it's going to be expensive but how do you expect the people benefitting from this profits of ridiculous rent prices to get their coffee if the people who make it can't afford to be there!? It will get to that point in not so long.

Associate
OP
I hear the north is cheap. Could easily rent a 4 bed detached for 1k up their.