really quick SQL Server question

Soldato
Hi all,

I have access to our works SQL Server Management Studio and all the live data. I am very new to it.

I need to change the owners of some orders, I think I know how but I can't get hold of the director who does this normally, I've had a message from the old dev who says "in the live sql box there is a sql script that does it. Just find the id to transfer from and to"

Any idea where the live sql box is?

I've looked and can create scripts from new but can't find anything to reference what we need.

Man of Honour
Sounds like he means there is a stored procedure or DTS/SSIS package in one of the DBs on the live server that can be run to achieve what you want.

He's using the words "Live SQL box" to reference the server you're already logged onto at a best guess.

Associate
Sounds like he means there is a stored procedure or DTS/SSIS package in one of the DBs on the live server that can be run to achieve what you want.

He's using the words "Live SQL box" to reference the server you're already logged onto at a best guess.

Yeah, that's how I read it too..

Soldato
OP
that's what I figured as well, but looking all over the place I've been unable to find anything that meets this. There's a standard replace procedure that covers the entire row for the table, but nothing specifically targeting ownership of an order.

Tech Director is over Tuesday or Wednesday, I'll ask him then whether what I've written is correct. I know it is to a point, it changes the info inside the order but not on the search page.

Man of Honour
Please make sure you run the update on a test box first. No one will thank you for blitzing the wrong data on the live box.

Soldato
The biggest problem with scripting a database is that it is easy to make make a mistake that effects far more records that you intended.
As a result, you really shouldn't be editing it unless you know what you are doing.

Associate