Recommendation for laptop for web development

Associate
Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to programming and am looking to buy my first laptop. I'd like to keep to a budget of <£500.00, but I'm open to spending more if it's sensible. I was wondering if anyone had gone through the same process? I'm probably looking at spending the next few weeks learning java, ruby, etc.

My first impressions as to what I want/need are a min 256GB SSD, 4-8GB RAM, matt screen 15"+. I've read a few articles to give an idea of what's about:
https://www.techradar.com/uk/news/best-laptop-for-programming
https://bytescout.com/blog/laptops-for-programming.html

• Apple MacBook Pro MF839LL - ~£2000.00 - Lazy option. Has everything I imagine I would need but extremely pricey
  • Apple 13″ MacBook Air - ~£1000.00 - Again, lazy option. Probably everything I'd need, but I'd be paying a premium while not needing to invest days learning about laptops
  • Acer Aspire A15 - £500 at Currys - Seems to meet all the relevant spec
  • Lenovo ThinkPad E470 laptop -£450.00 (ebay ex-display) - Seems to meet all relevant spec. 14" display.
  • HP 255 G5 laptop - £320 (refurb, I can't find new?) - There's something uninspiring about this one.
  • Asus Chromebook Flip C302 - £500.00 on Amazon.

** Having read a few more posts on here, I think my best bet might be a refurbished
  • Lenovo Thinkpad T series (T440, 440s, 450, 450s, etc) or a Thinkpad X1 - 3rd gen X1s for upwards of £300 on eBay
  • Dell - refurbished. I haven't looked in details.
  • HP 255 G7 Ryzen 8GB DDR4 256GB SSD Full HD Win10 Business Laptop,USB 3.1 - £369, band new on ebay

Any advice appreciated, thanks!

Last edited:
Man of Honour
I am a very strong advocate of used Lenovo ThinkPads, but only their T, X and X1 series and with upgraded IPS screens.

Soldato