Recording 1-2-1s with Line Managers

Man of Honour
Hi all,

A friend has asked me this and I'm no expert.

He wants to start recording his 1-2-1s with his LM as he keeps getting messed around on his objectives and getting excluded from meetings.

As long as he asks for permission and is given consent there's no issues with recording and then saving that recording to a personal device is there? I told him I'd ask around, and told him to phone his EAP advisors.

Or is there something more nuanced going on? Fortunately at my level pretty much all meetings are recorded and minuted - but I don't really know what to advise him at that sort of middle management level.

I guess the other thing he could do is minute the meeting and email them and as long as there's no response consider it as "approved"?

Last edited:
Associate
This is a terrible idea - what would your friend say if his line manager asked if it's ok if he started to record everything in the workplace out of the blue? - maybe miffed?

If he's concerned about being messed about in 1-2-1s etc then they should try and subtly (as possible) summarize the 1-2-1 after each one and send it on an email to his boss afterwards as a way of recording/controlling the agenda. However this approach is pretty passive aggressive to.

..But you're friend really needs to start looking for a new position tbh

Man of Honour
As above they either need to take it up with their line manager, someone above their line manager and/or ER/HR or find another job, it isn't going to get any better.

Associate
Sounds utterly bizarre!

1-2-1 meetings are meant to be 2 way streets where you catch up with subordinates or your boss and where you go over topics to ensure guidance on day to day, mid term topic catch ups and ensure that conversations at half year and EOY performance don't come as a surprise...

It shouldn't be adversarial and even minutes are unnecessary unless there are performance issues etc.