1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remove everything and reinstall Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Number29, Nov 3, 2013.

  1. Number29

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2013

    Posts: 304

    Hi all

    I'm trying to use the above option in Windows 8. However, I'm getting a message that says 'Some files are missing. Your Windows installation or recovery media will provide these'. I've inserted my Windows 8 Pro installation DVD (the one I created when I first bought and downloaded Windows 8 last year) but it won't accept this.

    Can someone please tell me how to get this option to work? Or am I going to have to reinstall in the old way, booting from the DVD?

    Many thanks.

    #29.
     
  2. JOSH

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 23, 2013

    Posts: 9,028

    Location: Surrey

    I'm having the same issue, tried to reinstall Windows 8 it said please insert installtion recovery media, I put in my windows 8 OEM CD and got the same "won't accept"

    I just want a competley fresh start as I am putting a new SSD in.

    Anyone out there with the solution?

    Josh
     
  3. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2004

    Posts: 13,302

    Boot from the DVD...
     
  4. JOSH

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 23, 2013

    Posts: 9,028

    Location: Surrey

    Is it really that easy? I have the Windows 8 OEM CD.
     
  5. Number29

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2013

    Posts: 304

    It is that easy, but the refresh option is even easier, but doesn't actually work for either of us.
     
  6. JOSH

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 23, 2013

    Posts: 9,028

    Location: Surrey

    I'll take the reinstall option if it means I can completely restart windows 8 and start afresh.

    Why doesn't the refresh option work out of interest?

    I shall be doing this later, will have to install BF4 for the third time.

    Josh
     
  7. Number29

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2013

    Posts: 304

    I've no idea. It worked on a laptop I had.
     
  8. JOSH

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 23, 2013

    Posts: 9,028

    Location: Surrey

    Brilliant,

    Soon as I get home a fresh reinstall is going ahead, do I need to wipe my SSD & HDD before or will Windows wipe it all for me?

    Never done this before.

    Josh
     


Share This Page