1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rift S DisplayPort issue

Discussion in 'Virtual Reality' started by bazzabear, Sep 28, 2019.

  1. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    I have just upgraded from Rift to Rift S. Except I can't get the S to work at all.

    When setting up, it is not detecting the DisplayPort connection.

    Except, this is the weird an infuriating bit - it does recognise the DisplayPort connection when setting up, gives the green tick, but a few seconds later goes back to the rotatin icon meaning it's looking for that connection.

    I've raised a tickety with oculus support, but says it could be 2 days for a reply. I have tried all the suggestions on this page:
    https://support.oculus.com/392708781514665/?locale=en_GB&ref=oculus-pc-app

    (And the plugging USB, then waiting and plugging DisplayPort is what gioves me the temporary connection.)

    I wonder if anyone else has had a similar issue and has a solution? My motherboard is an Asus Z730-P, and USB ports are 3.1, so shouldn't be causing any issue.

    The only other suggested solution I've found online is to remove all other USB devices. But then I would have no mouse or keyboard!
     
  2. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    Just tried the removal of all other USB devices - still went green and then bnack to searching a few seconds later.

    I hope I can get this working - I already sold my Rift!
     
  3. danoliver1

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 24, 2005

    Posts: 2,948

    Location: MANC-chester

    Might be worth unplugging and reconnecting the cables that go into the headset itself.
    Also try a different usb port the rift is notorious for being picky about what usb port is used.
     
  4. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    Thanks for those tips. I have tried every USB port now, and re-plugged the headset end of the cable too, no luck.

    Based on exactly what you say about fussy on USB port, I've ordered one of those Inatech USB hubs. Hopefully that'll do the trick. won't hurt to have some extra rear USB ports anyway!

    I can't find any suggestions online of issues with the Z730 USB ports, but I've found some about other ASUS motherboards, so fingers crossed this is the problem.
     
  5. aoaaron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 2,203

    argh i remember someone disabling something in bios which solved the issue for someone but sadly i can't remember what it was.
     
  6. DoneADougalOnSofa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,679

    Location: Bath

    Legacy USB support, or EHCI handoff are the only things that spring to mind, or selective suspend... Any of those ring a bell?
     
  7. aoaaron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 2,203

    i think it was something random like disabling XMP profile actually.
     
  8. sideways14a

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 31, 2017

    Posts: 1,619

    I just got a rift S and it failed to work on my install, because i was running a windows N install (which is sans media player)
    It also got worse because i was running dev versions and couldnt install the media software so i had to nuke it and start again.

    Make sure your USB drivers are working and up to date FROM THE MANUFACTURER not microsoft.
    Try and select usb 3 ports on your motherboard.
    Ensure you video card is on the latest MANUFACTURER drive, ie nvidias or AMDs not Microsofts.

    Stuff like that :p
     
  9. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    I saw the disabling XMP idea on here too. Tried it, and didn't work for me.

    I looked atr the available drivers for my motherboard, and can't see any obviuously related to USB.

    Looking at USB drivers in device manager, The only one that has a non generic name is "Intel USB 3.0 eXtensible Host controller", which claims it has the latest drivers.

    Video card drivers are bang up to date.

    I'm not sure what you mean by 'try and select usb 3 ports on your motherboard" sorry.
     
  10. melmac

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 19, 2010

    Posts: 7,025

    disabling XMP in the BIOS only works with some Z170 motherboards.

    I don't think your problems are related to USB.

    It might be a dodgy connection in the display port cable. Sometimes there is a loose connection where the cable goes into the headset. Take off the face pad and try pushing in the connector.
     
  11. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    I've taken the connector out entirely at the headset end and reseated it, still no luck.

    If the USB hub (which arrives tomorrow) doesn't fix the issue, then I guess I'll try taking it back for an exchange.
     
  12. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    I've been in contact with Oculus support, but while they've tried to help they've only suggested the stuff from their website that I'd already read and done.
     
  13. sideways14a

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 31, 2017

    Posts: 1,619

    Make sure you have it plugged into the usb 3 ports on your MB. Some have usb 2 ports alongside usb 3 so ensure they are plugged into the proper ones.

    Get the latest drivers for the board and intel INF as well just to make sure. Go to the manufacturers site for that and intel for the chipset ones.
     
  14. melmac

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 19, 2010

    Posts: 7,025

    It doesn't sound like a USB issue to me. If your ports worked fine with the Rift, one of them should work with the Rift S. I wouldn't spend any money trying to fix this, just return it.
     
  15. sideways14a

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 31, 2017

    Posts: 1,619

    I dunno, i have seen it do some pretty weird things and i have only had one for a day or two.
    I got mine fixed with a full windows rebuild and drive reinstall but i knew that was needed anyway.
     
  16. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    Definitely plugged into a USB3 port (has been tried in 6 different ones!)

    Board BIOS is up to date. None of the drivers here:
    https://www.asus.com/uk/Motherboards/PRIME-Z370-P/HelpDesk_Download/
    Seem to make any reference to USB.

    Maybe the chipset one would be worthwhile? But I followed your other advice and checked Intels pages for the chipset. Their driver & support assistant reports that the chipset software is up to date.

    Is it not possible that the USB isn't supplying enough power to run the DisplayPort connection? Either way, the extra USB ports won't be a bad thing anyway, so no harm in trying the new hub. It'll come quicker than I can get a replacement headset anyway.
     
  17. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

  18. sideways14a

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 31, 2017

    Posts: 1,619

    Always worth installing the latest .inf - never know.
    I have an extension coming for my DP interface so i can move the working area out into my room a bit - will prob plug it into my powered usb hub then but currently its on the MB only and is working fine.
     
  19. hyperseven

    Soldato

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 6,432

    Location: M28

    Do you not know of anyone with a suitable PC/laptop to try the Rift on to rule out the Rift itself?
     
  20. bazzabear

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 2, 2013

    Posts: 2,125

    No-one with a graphics card that'd run it. Or at least no-one conveniently local.