RWD?

Soldato
So, over the time browsing here I've came to realise that RWD is for proper sports car and proper drivers.

I've also read RWD can get you into trouble if your inexperienced... This I don't understand? So it requires more skill to make it go fast, why is this?

Hot hatches all seem to be FWD, what's their draw back?

I'm very new to the car world and would love to learn all this. Please excuse my ignorance.

I've driven a Civic FN2 and an ST. Both were very easy to handle going semi quick and both confidence inspiring. I also drove a boxster S and it wasn't half as confidence inspiring. I was taking bends at half the speed of the other two cars. Yet the Boxster with its mid engine and rear wheel drive is the best.

Any info would be great.

Soldato
• Better weight balance. Most rear wheel drive cars have the engine in the front and the drive components in the rear. Front drive cars have everything up front. By properly balancing the front and rear of the car you can improve the handling, acceleration, braking, and thus safety of a car.

• Better acceleration. On all but the slipperiest surfaces rear wheel drive cars accelerate faster than a front drive car from a stop. This is because when you accelerate quickly from a stop the weight of the car transfers to the rear of the car. In a rear drive car this places extra weight on the rear of the car, essentially jamming the tires into the road greatly increasing traction. In a front drive car, when the weight goes to the rear, weight is taken off of the front wheels. This allows the front wheels lose traction and spin easier. If the wheels are spinning not only does this slow you down but it also makes it difficult to steer the car. In the rear drive car the front tires are available for steering even if the rears have lost traction.