1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ryzen 3000 - Timings, voltage & temps (3600C16)

Discussion in 'Memory' started by i_am_jon, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. i_am_jon

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2007

    Posts: 112

    I'm running a 3900x on Aorus x570 Ultra with GSkill 4x8GB 3600C17 (b-die). Trying to tighten up the timings to at least 3600C16 but not managed 100% Prime95 stable yet.

    The 1usmus DRAM calculator doesn't have a Ryzen 3 profile yet, are the gen 2 settings ok to use?

    If I set "Profile version" to V1 the Safe timings are 14-15-15-15-30. Not trying to push that far would rather keep volts down so selected V2 & Fast giving 16-17-16-32. Either way it's suggesting 1.45v, seems a bit high to me. Temps are already getting up to 40 degrees on 3600C17 at 1.36v, think having 4 sticks stifles the airflow around them.

    Do I need to be going straight to 1.4v+, what voltage / temps are considered safe?
    Is it ok to just set the main 5 timings in the BIOS and leave the rest to auto or do they all need setting manually?
    Latency is already 71ns @ 3600C17, are the gains worth it?
    How far are people pushing the timings, volts and temps?
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  2. i_am_jon

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2007

    Posts: 112

    Ram: 4x8GB 3600C17 (GSkill: B-die)
    Timings: 3600Mhz 16-17-16-32-1T @ 1.40v
    Mobo: X570 Aorus Ultra (Bios: F4d Agesa: 1.0.0.3)
    CPU: Ryzen 3900x (Stock / PBO)
    AIDIA64 Read: 56,509 MB/s (Was: 54,700 MB/s)
    AIDIA64 Latency: 67.1 ns (Was:70.5 ns)

    I tried using all the main DRAM calculator settings for V2 Profile / Fast (skipped: misc, termination block and cad_bus) for 3600Mhz 16-17-16-32-1T @ 1.44v and this is what I ended up with. Seems stable in Prime95 and RAM temps are maxing out at 41 degrees.

    Could probably tweak it a bit more but already spent too long messing with them. Sure the voltage will come down a bit if I try (Edit: down to 1.40v now).

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Added key details to head, thanks @Orange Nexus
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  3. DragonQ

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 6,767

    3000-14-16-14-32-1T @ 1.35 V = stable
    3200-14-16-14-32-1T @ 1.35 V = stable but screwed up audio
    Anything above 3200 @ 1.35-1.4 V = won't POST

    X470 Taichi Ultimate with AGESA ComboPI 1.0.0.1
     
  4. unixdude007

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 8, 2014

    Posts: 14

    4x8GB 3200 (B-die)
    Timings - 14-13-13-13-26-1T
    DRAM voltage - 1.35
    Mobo - Crosshair Hero VII
    Bios - 2406 AMD AGESA Combo-AM4 1.0.0.2

    Ran Prime95 over night no issues apart from when I power off the machine and then I believe the DRAM voltage resets to 1.2 volts and I have to setup the voltage again and reload my profile via the bios.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  5. Orange Nexus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 846

    Op, please include at the beginning of each post the following info:
    CPU:
    Motherboard:
    RAM Part No../Die Type/Manufacturer's spec. Speed.

    and other pertinent info you chaps find necessary. Thank you.

    Edit: I think @unixdude007 post would be a good model.

    Thank you, op, for starting this thread.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  6. Orange Nexus

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2018

    Posts: 846

    Did you use the Dram Calculator or just set DOCP?
    Did you adjust the FLCK?
     
  7. unixdude007

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 8, 2014

    Posts: 14

    DOCP doesn't work for me unfortunately so I had to setup things manually, I had the same timings setup on my 1800x so just ported across all the timing values (not using DRAM calc just trial and error) and in the words of Jurgen Kloop "Boom" they worked without a hitch. I've not had time to play with the FLCK on these timings but I did mess around overclocking the ram to 3600 and setting the flck to 1800mhz I've manually tweaked these timings only slightly so they are a bit loose at the moment. When I get back from work I'll probably tighten them up a bit more:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. chrcoluk

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 27, 2015

    Posts: 3,762

    prime95 is not the way to test ram guys ;)

    hci memtest or karhu ramtester for windows.

    GSAT for linux.
     
  9. unixdude007

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 8, 2014

    Posts: 14

    Yup memtest passed this morning, I was torture testing the 4.3 ghz overclock at 1.25volts with prime which seemed to be fine after 24 hours the prior night :)
     
  10. i_am_jon

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2007

    Posts: 112

    HCI will only test 1.8GB per instance and I have 32GB so should be running 18 instances for a full test?

    Edit: Running now, 30% and no errors but RAM's up to 46 degrees according to HWMonitor. Only 55 degrees on the CPU despite 70%+ load. Systems running a bit slow though :rolleyes:

    ....Whats wrong with prime95? It was good enough for my Q6600.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2019
  11. chrcoluk

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 27, 2015

    Posts: 3,762

    yep just run multiple instances.
     
  12. unixdude007

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 8, 2014

    Posts: 14

    Well after some tweaking with my 3200 ram OC'd to 3600 this is where I am sat at the moment:

    [​IMG]