1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ryzen memory option...

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Funokata, Jun 11, 2018.

  1. Funokata

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 16, 2012

    Posts: 2

  2. chroniclard

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 8,990

  3. Funokata

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 16, 2012

    Posts: 2

    Cool, thanks mate. I think I'll just suck it up and pay a little more to be sure.
     
  4. davey_g10

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 5, 2018

    Posts: 18

    Chroniclard, how can you tell those are b-die?
    I've read that 14-14-14 timings are, but these ones are 16-16-16. Is that not the only way to tell?
     
  5. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2003

    Posts: 2,838

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    They are B-die because it clearly says they are in both the links. They are Cas16 because at 3600mhz nothing is going to run at Cas14.
     
  6. passifid

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 28, 2016

    Posts: 223

    3200 cas 14 gaurentees b die as other chips will not do it but not all cas16 are not b die my vilcaV 16-18-18-36 are b die according to taiphoon and can be tightened but no gairenegau with anything elae
     
  7. davey_g10

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 5, 2018

    Posts: 18

    Interesting. So even though the above 2 links are b-die, are you saying that they still might not be compatible where as 3200 cas14 is at least guaranteed to always be compatible? Or did I misunderstand?
     
  8. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2003

    Posts: 2,838

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    The ram in both links are compatible, they are B-die. The only difference between the 2 is the XMP profile. If you try booting by setting from the XMP profile of either though you will have a failed boot on any AM4 mobo.
    You would need to boot using safe defaults, get into windows run Thaiphoon Burner and export setting to Ryzen Dram Calculator. Then get settings for your system from there.
     
  9. davey_g10

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 5, 2018

    Posts: 18

    Thanks.
    Is there any b-die RAM that will work out the box without any tweaking or settings change with a R7?
     
  10. chroniclard

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 8,990

  11. davey_g10

    Associate

    Joined: Jul 5, 2018

    Posts: 18

    Cheers. If wanting 32gb can you just buy double or is it more performance effective to use 2x 16GB sticks?
     
  12. kitfit1

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2003

    Posts: 2,838

    Location: Stourport-On-Severn

    +1
    Have 2 sets of these in my CH6 running very happily at 3533mhz with 14-15-15-15 timings.

    Edit: Proof should it be required.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018