Search for RAM

Associate
Joined
4 Apr 2004
Posts
1,520
Location
Manchester
Hi people.

Almost completed a new build which consists of:

Ryzen 5800x
MSI X570 Tomahawk Max
6800XT Sapphire

I was looking for some memory to go in this and have been reading up about infinity fabric timing etc and the advantages of low latency etc.

I have come across this Corsair stuff


CMK16GX4M2G4000C16
VENGEANCE® LPX 16GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4 DRAM 4000MHz C16 Memory Kit - Black


I believe it is difficult to get the fclk to run at 2000 so am I correct to assume that 4000 may be detrimental? If so, would it be easy for me to run it at 3600 or 3800 (with a chance of tighter latency) and set the fclk to 1800/1900 respectively or is running it at anything other than it's XMP profile difficult to sort out.

Also, is this memory actually any good? Or is there something obvious that I'm missing?

Many thanks.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Apr 2004
Posts
1,520
Location
Manchester
Corsair 3600mhz works well but gets hot

I see, my case seems to run quite cool. I have a Phanteks 500A with three intakes on the front, 1 exhaust at the rear and 3 fans in a push config on a NZXT Kraken x73 AIO in the top mount. My temperatures are nice at the moment so I don't really want to introduce anything that may unnecessarily raise the temps.

Is there anything else that people can recommend? What about that 8 pack stuff?

https://www.overclockers.co.uk/team...3600mhz-dual-channel-kit-black-my-001-8p.html
 
Associate
Joined
22 Oct 2012
Posts
968
Doesn't hurt to have faster memory on hand man. Just downclock it. You may find with the latest AGESA bios (v1.2.x) that you can hit 1.9-2.0 GHz fclk, so it's not a bad investment.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Apr 2004
Posts
1,520
Location
Manchester
I've decided to get them anyway. I'll see if I can get them running at 3800 C14 with a 1900 fclk. Assuming I can get it stable at these speeds, I'll keep an eye on temps in the case and make a decision as to whether to keep them in there or move over to the spare rig.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Dec 2007
Posts
1,554
I've decided to get them anyway. I'll see if I can get them running at 3800 C14 with a 1900 fclk. Assuming I can get it stable at these speeds, I'll keep an eye on temps in the case and make a decision as to whether to keep them in there or move over to the spare rig.

You may have just discovered the best b die bin ever manufactured: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/foru...arket-4000-16-16-16-36-xmp-at-1-35v.18919756/

I would be VERY interested to see what they ship you. Please update this thread and take pictures of the box and the XMP spec.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Apr 2004
Posts
1,520
Location
Manchester
You may have just discovered the best b die bin ever manufactured: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/foru...arket-4000-16-16-16-36-xmp-at-1-35v.18919756/

I would be VERY interested to see what they ship you. Please update this thread and take pictures of the box and the XMP spec.

Well I've just had despatch confirmation so they're sending me something, God knows what :D:D
Should be arriving tomorrow so as soon as I'm home from work I'll let you know what it is they have sent.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Apr 2004
Posts
1,520
Location
Manchester
You may have just discovered the best b die bin ever manufactured: https://www.overclockers.co.uk/foru...arket-4000-16-16-16-36-xmp-at-1-35v.18919756/

I would be VERY interested to see what they ship you. Please update this thread and take pictures of the box and the XMP spec.

Ok, so these arrived yesterday. I forgot to take pictures of the box but I'll sort that out this week. The timings on the side were as stated 4000 @ 16-16-16-36 but it is not 1.35 volts but 1.4

Having said that, I've not really sat and tried to tune anything very much but on the first try (not sure if these are good or bad results) I downclocked them to 3800 @ 16-16-16-36 at 1.3 volts. I'll try this weekend when I have more time to tighten up the timings, as if it's doing the C16 at 1.3v i'd hope there's a chance of C14 at 1.35v or 1.4v (at 3800).
 
Associate
Joined
10 Dec 2007
Posts
1,554
Ok, so these arrived yesterday. I forgot to take pictures of the box but I'll sort that out this week. The timings on the side were as stated 4000 @ 16-16-16-36 but it is not 1.35 volts but 1.4

Having said that, I've not really sat and tried to tune anything very much but on the first try (not sure if these are good or bad results) I downclocked them to 3800 @ 16-16-16-36 at 1.3 volts. I'll try this weekend when I have more time to tighten up the timings, as if it's doing the C16 at 1.3v i'd hope there's a chance of C14 at 1.35v or 1.4v (at 3800).

If you can put the pictures in the other thread it would be appreciated. Yeah if you are doing 3800C16 at 1.3v it's kind of insane. You know I thought about the only weakness of these sticks and it might be Corsair for some reason cheaped out on the PCB and made it 8 layer or has a suboptimal PCB layout. Would you mind downloading taiphoon burner and screenshotting the main window?
 
Top Bottom