Server help - noob advice

Soldato
Hi,

I am just starting out on my MS server journey and studying via the Virtual Academy but I've an issue at work and could do with some advice from those with experience.

The call centre at work uses old laptops, running win 7 upwards, home and pro editions.

They are finally upgrading to desktops, however, the problem we have is that every 3-4 weeks they like to move everyone around. 26 desks for advisors + maybe 4 for management but they don't really move.

I'm aware a that I would have to use Win Server 2012/2016 Standard but the problem is I have no idea what kind of hardware that would need to manage that number of users?

Can anyone give me a system spec + price for what would allow me to create roaming profiles for everyone?

Xez

Xez

Associate
Do you have some more background? Is this server going to be purely a file server and be added to an existing network with Active Directory already installed or is an entire new server that is to fulfil several roles as this will ultimately determine as to the system specification.

I'm surprised if they all like to move around that a terminal server with thin clients wasn't considered as this would allow people to move far more easily without the hassle of configuring roaming profiles and the problems that this can cause when not configured correctly.

Man of Honour
30 users, assuming that you are running AD, DHCP & DNS you could get away with next to nothing tbh. Each DC in our domain of which we have 4 has a spec of 1vCPU, 2GB Memory and a SAN back end. We service 5 or 6 times the number of users you have and it performs a treat. If the server is virtual there is no reason not to start small and scale it up. Clearly if you are looking at an SBS config then this isn't nearly enough resource.

Soldato
OP