Should I start my car on Axle stands!?

Permabanned
Joined
17 Jan 2006
Posts
1,971
Location
Haskins
If the front of my car is up in the air (i'm noise finding!), and I start the engine briefly to locate the noise, will I starve the engine of oil (in the sump mainly) due to the angle of the car, or, if the car is still cold and the oil is thick, would it protect long enough for me to locate the noise!?

EDIT: I'm only talking the lowest Axle stand setting, and probably only one side of the car, just enough to get my head under!
 
Associate
Joined
25 Jan 2004
Posts
848
There shouldn't be any problem with the oil supply because it is designed to cope with the oil sloshing about during normal use, including going up steep hills.
 
Associate
Joined
22 May 2004
Posts
1,189
Oracle said:
If the front of my car is up in the air (i'm noise finding!), and I start the engine briefly to locate the noise, will I starve the engine of oil (in the sump mainly) due to the angle of the car, or, if the car is still cold and the oil is thick, would it protect long enough for me to locate the noise!?

EDIT: I'm only talking the lowest Axle stand setting, and probably only one side of the car, just enough to get my head under!

Im sure it will be ok, otherwise how do cars parked on steep hills manage.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
3,116
Location
Brighton - In the seat that Ro
was the kicking that did it, and anyone who seriously hought running acar backwards would reverse the miles deserves all he gets.

Any sensible joy rider knows you disconnect the manula speedo cable on old cars before you set off and reconnect it after!!

;)
 
Permabanned
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2006
Posts
1,971
Location
Haskins
Steve said:
was the kicking that did it, and anyone who seriously hought running acar backwards would reverse the miles deserves all he gets.

Any sensible joy rider knows you disconnect the manula speedo cable on old cars before you set off and reconnect it after!!

;)

Also works in your lovely M3 if you remove the plugs from behind the left and right of the dash binnacle! Guestimate your fuel, and you'll have one very young M3!!
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
3,116
Location
Brighton - In the seat that Ro
Oracle said:
Also works in your lovely M3 if you remove the plugs from behind the left and right of the dash binnacle! Guestimate your fuel, and you'll have one very young M3!!

don't look at my speedo anyway, maybe do that when I hit 50k, keep it eternally young ;)

on second thoughts I read that it stored the milage in 1 or 2 other places?
 
Permabanned
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2006
Posts
1,971
Location
Haskins
Steve said:
don't look at my speedo anyway, maybe do that when I hit 50k, keep it eternally young ;)

on second thoughts I read that it stored the milage in 1 or 2 other places?

Nope, it doesnt (well it doesnt in any other E46, so I dont see why the M3 should be different)
 
Permabanned
OP
Joined
17 Jan 2006
Posts
1,971
Location
Haskins
Hah, one chappie told me once that when his binnacle was plugged back in, he saw the numbers 'tick round' to play catch up!

I asked him to repeat this 'task' recorded the numbers before unplugging, and low and behold they were the same after a small trip. It doesnt unfortunately delay the service schedule! but thats easily rest by shorting two pins and waiting an allotted time for the indicator to reset. (if the garage forget of course!!)

In addition, plugging the car into T4 or any other Diagnostic tool does not give you the feature to check the mileage.

A manufacturer I know that does do this is Porsche, as they rely on a computer to value any Porsche bought into the dealership for part ex. They plug the diagnostics in, and select 'Value' and the lovely little box tells you the mileage (from an independant source), and how the car has been driven since its last service by downloading real time data logging. It then spits out a recommended trade in value! (quite how it knows the condition of paint, trim, tyres, interior, etc, etc is beyond me!)
 
Back
Top Bottom