So angry!

Associate
Joined
5 Dec 2006
Posts
570
Location
Aberdeen
Ok I sent my PSU back to OCUK because it stopped working and I got another one the day after they received mine which I am still impressed with.

But now when I am playing BF3 the PC randomly restarts.

Exactly what will happen is the screen goes black for a second then it just restarts.

I thought it might be graphics driver related so I am in the middle of downloading the new beta/preview ones.

But I am sure that this kind of thing is usually PSU related?

What can I do to test the PSU and see if it is causing the problem? I just sold my old PSU so can't even try that out.
 

RJC

RJC

Don
Joined
29 May 2005
Posts
28,933
Location
Kent
Is your overclock stable? try playing at stock settings.

Try men test on your memory and does this happen in any other games?
 
Associate
Joined
21 Nov 2002
Posts
1,588
Deffo sounds more like an issue with your overclock rather than the PSU. I'd suggest you drop your system down to stock and see if that resolves the issue.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Apr 2003
Posts
13,476
Ditto RJC - reset everything to defaults and see if it emulates the problem.

Memtest is always a solid place to start and you could run it overnight to try and rule it out as a factor.
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Jan 2007
Posts
14,178
Location
PA, USA (Orig UK)
Screen going black for a few secs? Sounds like a simliar issue to BFBC2. Check it's not a common problem first before getting angry.

ALSO... BF3 is beta... try a few other games that are gruelling on the system.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
5 Dec 2006
Posts
570
Location
Aberdeen
As stupid as it sounds, I didnt even think of the OC . . . I am ashamed :(

It has happened in HoN aswell so its not just BF3.

I will mess around with it somemore and post again if it happens, cheers guys.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
5 Dec 2006
Posts
570
Location
Aberdeen
One more question, if it is the clock, would it just be more volts it needs? I am running on the preset ones that the Extreme4 Gen3 gives me.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
5 Dec 2006
Posts
570
Location
Aberdeen
Well after a few hours of BF3 and HoN the problem hasn't happened again so I am now alot happier :D

Thanks again for the help.

Looks like I will just have to look into manually clocking it later :)
 
Top Bottom