So complete mac noob here - just bought an M2 macbook pro - Questions

Soldato
Hello after being a PC builder / Windows user for what is it the best part of 35 yrs, i thought i'd give the Apple Macbook a go. I'm an iOS user, iPhone and iPad, and have the Apple TV, airpods and just thought why the heck not ! I saw a new M2 Macbook Pro on sale and even though i don't really have a specific need for one, i thought its been a while since i've treated myself to something completely unnecessary in my life, so pulled the trigger. OK so maybe i do have a slight reason. I use Premiere Pro a lot, and have always toyed with the thought of giving FCPX a go, but i don't think my 8GB macbook is going to cut it, but they didn't have any 16GB's M2s, so went with the paltry 8gb ver.

So after a few hrs, some of which were a little frustrating, namely me looking at the right of windows to close when everything is on the left. Figuring out the 'Control button is really the 'Alt' button. And now i've finally enabled right click, whereas it was off by default. I'd figure i'd ask, where do you get software from? erm like on the cheap. i'd like to get MS office for mac, as all my stuff such as spreadsheets and word docs are obviously needed if i'm really going to use this ever. I also use google drive on all my pc's... does this work on a mac ? i guess i could google this but i miss asking questions on forums like we did back in the late 90's and early 00's

Where's the best place to get these? and do these lic keys you get from using an overseas VPN work. I do have a couple of kids, 16 and 17, both in school, so could try and pull off a student version. I get the Adobe Creative suite this way.

Also AV software... Back in the day mac users would mock PC users saying we don't need AV software, but that was yrs and yrs ago, and times have probably changed.. Does that still hold true?

I think that's it for now.

Thanks in advance

Soldato