Spec me an economics course

Associate
I'll try to keep this brief and will inevitably fail. I'm toying with the idea of doing an economics course of some sort, but I'm not sure what options would (a) be open to me and (b) would be good ideas (or at least not terrible ones).

Background:
I'm 24 with a BA in computer science. I've been working since I graduated in 2011 - I'm in my second job as a software developer. I've not studied economics at any level before but have developed an interest in it over the last couple of years.

Motivation:
I wouldn't see myself going on to do anything that directly benefited from/required the qualification. My interest is pretty much just in understanding for its own sake - pure curiosity. I see myself doing one of a couple of things after:

1. Going on to do a PhD in computer science (if that's even possible without a masters in computer science), perhaps/probably in an area that would benefit from knowledge of economics.
  2. Returning to work as a software developer (not the same job though).

Current situation:
That would most accurately be described as "stuck in a rut". For nearly a year now I've been living with my parents. I pay a small amount of rent but it's really nothing compared to the flat I had for two years until last summer. The job I've had for the last two and a bit years allows me to work from anywhere (in the world). Being the frugal person I am (and perhaps insecure, or perhaps just forward thinking), I'm using the situation to stash away as much money as I can (I understand that my self employed status would make it hard to get a mortgage, but even if it didn't, I'm not sure that would be a good idea - I just don't know what I want so don't think that commitment would be wise). Some things about this are good (flexible well paid work), but there are two significant downsides meaning that I don't see myself in it long term: