1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me: UPS

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Quartz, Mar 28, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Quartz

    Soldato

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 5,205

    Location: Aberdeen

    My UPS has failed. I've tried replacing the battery without success.

    The failed one was 700VA.

    The UPS is for home use: a single PC and three screens (see sig). I want battery backup and surge protection. I would prefer the UPS to be inline. I don't expect extended use - just enough to finish whatever I'm doing and shut down cleanly and to cover momentary power outages. It's likely going to be situated somewhere near my feet if it can't be hung from my desk, so some ruggedness would be appreciated.
     
  2. bledd

    Don

    Joined: Oct 21, 2002

    Posts: 45,525

    Location: Parts Unknown

    What make was your old one? We have a lot of APC units in work.

    They've been pretty solid tbh. A handful of failures, but not enough to put me off them.
     
  3. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 7,414

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Either APC or Eaton would be my suggestion - have used various sizes of both at work (from 450VA line interactive APCs all the way up to 6000VA online Eatons) - in 10+ years I've had 1 APC fail (out of 30+ units)

    Something like the APC Back-UP 1400VA would be ideal (and can be found for around £120):
    http://www.apc.com/shop/uk/en/products/APC-Back-UPS-1400VA-230V-AVR-IEC-Sockets/P-BX1400UI

    At ~300W-400W load you would get around 10-15 minutes of runtime
    http://www.apc.com/products/runtimegraph/runtime_graph.cfm?base_sku=BX1400UI&chartSize=large
     
  4. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 3,658

    Location: Finland

    Assuming wanting "normal" UK power sockets CyberPower BRIC would be one of the few.
    https://www.cyberpower.com/uk/en/product/series/Backup UPS Systems/BRICs LCD

    APC Back-UPS ES or what ever is its current name lacks any kind ventilation, which isn't good for cheap capacitors in its control electronics.

    For DIN/Schuko plug there are more choises, but that would require different power cables.
    And might as well go for IEC plugs.
     
  5. Phil2008

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 17, 2004

    Posts: 7,386

    I would buy a not very well known UPS because your paying quite a bit just for the name.. a few months ago I bought a online 2000VA / 1800W UPS from Powerwalker at £400.. If I had bought APC with the same specs Im guessing that would be closer to £1000 or more.

    I dont use the ups in the "online" mode but the "line interactive" mode, as "online mode" uses slightly more power. But if the main voltage gets unstable it automatically switches to the online mode.

    The UPS has been great so far and hasnt let me down.. If a power hungry powertool gets switched on that causes the mains voltage to drop about 10volts or more for a split second, the UPS switches over to the online mode with in 2-4ms. What I would like to know though, if the mains power voltage gets stupidly high, will the ups totally disconnect itself form the mains power, to save it from being damaged?

    https://powerwalker.com/?page=product&item=10122042&lang=en

    I have taken the cover off the ups to replace the fans for quieter ones, as the fans run 24/7 and its in my bedroom.. It looks one hell of a beast inside

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2018
  6. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 3,658

    Location: Finland

    There's upper voltage limit for switching to battery so would expect UPS to disconnect itself from wall in case of high voltage.


    Are those capacitors made by Aishi?
    Images aren't sharp enough, but just look like those...
     
  7. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 54,820

    Sadly those Back-UPS units are proving to be a bit problematic - I've used APC extensively in the past without issues but I've a fair bit of experience now personally and indirectly professionally with the brick style ES and tower variants and the ES seem to be dying prematurely a lot and the tower style seems very sensitive to handling - if you get one of the tower style ones that works they seem great units but awhile back a lot weren't surviving transit (seems a bit better now so might have just been a bad batch or something).
     
  8. Phil2008

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 17, 2004

    Posts: 7,386

    The UPS flicks on to online mode when it gets ubove 250volts but its still connected to the mains power though, was just wondering if it ever got to like 300volts would it be intelligent enough to disconnect its self from the mains? Your spot on those caps are made by Aishi
     
  9. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 3,658

    Location: Finland

    250V is only very minor difference.
    I think there's something like 10% voltage tolerance for most mains voltage powered devices.
    And there are UPSes which seem to have normally open relay in input and don't even power on without battery power.
    So there could be ability to completely disconnect power circuitry from mains.

    Don't know how cheap those Aishis are, but they're certain to be on cheaper end.
    (just call them achoo in Chinese)
    No doubt that's one of the reasons for that plastic cover, which acts also as airflow guide preventing heat from rising to top (above fans) and getting trapped there.

    For minimizing noise per airflow finger guard made from metal wire would be still little better than those stamped grills.



    Yeah, mentioned Back-UPS ES being bad with lack of cooling and cheap crap capacitors.
     
  10. ANDARIAL

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,261

    Location: Woolyback Country

    Maybe i am going blind but where are the batteries?
     
  11. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 54,820

    IIRC they are on the other side of the case behind the mainboard.
     
  12. ANDARIAL

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,261

    Location: Woolyback Country

    Blimey:eek:Must be a huge box then
     
  13. Phil2008

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 17, 2004

    Posts: 7,386

    It's the size of a small pc

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Sasahara

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 12, 2009

    Posts: 3,196

    A word of warning if anyone else decides open up a UPS, be extremely carefull. Phil2008 may know what he's doing.

    The caps in a UPS can carry a dangerous charge long after it's been disconnected from the mains.
     
  15. Phil2008

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 17, 2004

    Posts: 7,386

    I dont really know what Im doing, but the batteries has to to changed every few years anyway.. Like I hate opening up UPS's mainly because until you have disconnected the batteries, the UPS still has power running through it. So 1 wrong move and the UPS is toast.

    The APC UPS's are not bad as you can disconnect the batteries before opening up the UPS, but with mine you have to open the UPS before you can disconnect the batteries and careful not to short anything as you do...Plus because my UPS is 1800watts, it give off a nasty spark and makes you jump when reconnecting the batteries back up to the UPS.:D

    So to be honest power in the caps are the least of my worries.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2018 at 12:26 AM