Starting swimming, any advice?

Soldato
So, I've recently started a new job which for the first time for me is a 'proper' office job which means a fairly sedentary lifestyle during the day. The combination of recently graduating from my twenties :)(), having a bit more money to spend on food I enjoy, going out etc. is (possibly) already taking a hit on my health. Nothing major, I'm 5'10 and weigh around 10st but I just want to do a bit of cardio or something to lose the paunch and generally feel a bit healthier and energetic. Clearly, weightloss isn't my aim..

Fortunately there's a gym literally over the road from my new place of work so I'm able to do a good 40mins swim in my lunch hour, probably a couple of times a week.

So, I'm after some practical advice on swimming firstly. I've never done lane swimming before so I'm assuming I should be doing perhaps more than just 40mins of front crawl. Does it matter my technique probably isn't up to scratch? Hopefully that will improve with time.

But also I'm wondering about lane swimming etiquette. It seems to be a complete minefield!! I was reading things online about dangling your legs in the pool whilst letting everyone in the lane swim past you once, so they know you're joining. Do people really do that? :confused: What are the big things I should avoid doing, I don't want to look like a total fool :p

Also, will I see/feel good results going a couple of times a week? I was thinking that if I get on well with it I could possibly add the odd evening swim in before I head home.

Thanks for any pointers! :)

Soldato
OP
Thanks. Yep in all reality I'm expecting to do probably one length, need a rest, then do another. Baby steps :p

Realistically I'll plan to go twice a week with possibly one more if I fancy it. Hopefully I'll see some difference with that!

Now all I need to do is buy some proper shorts and goggles. I'm guessing rocking up in my Quicksilver board shorts would be a mistake :p