1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

stress test new LAN

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by rangor gubbins, 29 Dec 2019.

  1. rangor gubbins

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Aug 2006

    Posts: 515

    Location: Doddington, Kent

    hi all,
    I'm after some advice on how to 'stress test' a newly installed LAN.
    We've refurbed our house, running cat6 all over the place. I've now terminated the cables into patch panels and RJ45 modules, continuity tested the terminations, and installed a Zyxel 24 port switch. Never done this before. How do i test that we've got a good connection on the network, no dropped packets, good speed, etc. without using the really expensive network testing gear like Fluke MS2-KIT. Is there some LAN stress test software that someone can recommend.
     
  2. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 27,108

    iperf3 between computers.
     
  3. rangor gubbins

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Aug 2006

    Posts: 515

    Location: Doddington, Kent

    cheers.
    Had a go wit iperf3. seems to do the job. I'm getting around 900 Mbits/s on most of the cables tested so far. one was a bit slower.
    I assume iperf3 will let me know if any data gets lost/broken along the way?
     
  4. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,505

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Data always gets lost/broken along the way. It’s catered for in the TCP/IP protocols. One reason why WLAN is so much slower than a cable is that there is a lot more resend requests because data gets lost more often in WLAN.

    Don’t get too hung up on testing. If you’re passing 900Mbps then the cable is probably fine. On CAT6 you really need to push a 10Gbps signal down it see any issues.
     
  5. rangor gubbins

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Aug 2006

    Posts: 515

    Location: Doddington, Kent

    Thanks, that useful info.
    I'm testing 34 cables (I got a bit carried away with running cables around the house - its not a big house!). For some of them I'm only getting around 600 Mbps using the default iperf3 settings. Does that indicate that either the cable or the terminal connection into the patch panel of rj45 module is dodgy? There's quite a bit of redundancy in the number of cables i have compared to what i need, so I can just avoid these slow ones. I could try re-terminating them to see if that helps?
     
  6. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,505

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    You could reterminate them but the likelihood is that you’ve bent a cable wrong, or nicked a bit of internal sheath and unless you’re ready to pull the cable again, you could just be doing a lot of work for very little gain.

    Personally, I’d just enjoy the network and not worry about data transfer speeds on cables that may never get used.
     
  7. rangor gubbins

    Hitman

    Joined: 5 Aug 2006

    Posts: 515

    Location: Doddington, Kent

    Good advice. thanks
    I re-tested the cables with iperf and now all are getting around 940 Mbits/sec. Not sure why i got a few lower speeds earlier.
     
  8. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,505

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    Then you should feel very pleased that you’ve successfully achieved what so many people run away from. Good job!