Switching from soft tube to PETG

Associate
Evening all,

This would appear to be my first post (though I was sure I had posted here before..) so Hi all.
Apologies if this has been asked, search A LOT but can not find anything on these 2 specifically.

So I've been running custom loops for the past 4 years always with soft tube and compression fittings.
changed my case 5 months ago to the core p5 and now I want to change the tubing to PETG.
Purchased all my parts and just waiting for the last bits to arrive from OCUK which are coming tomorrow.

Now I have the Monsoon 16mm OD PETG in 90mm length with Alphacool HT compression fittings for hardtube, after having a little play earlier to see how the assembly was and the fit etc it seems I am able to pull the tube from the fitting. Now I'm tightening as much as I can but doesn't seem to make too much of a difference.

Has anyone run this configuration or do I need to change the fittings/tube?

Pic of my current build. Also changing the my res to the EK with a 250 res with multiport as I want to use the top as my return.

Soldato
Two things, first you will always be able to pull it out as it's not literally compressing the tube in hardline... But it should be difficult.

Second, pretty sure all the Monsoon stuff is actually made in imperial not metric - quite an annoying problem with how they are listed. The thing with hard tube is the OD is critical to sealing, the above I think is 5/8 not 16mm though not 100% - where did you get it? It's quite common for it to be listed as '5/8 (16mm)' but the problem is that 5/8" is actually 15.875mm so depending on the fittings it can come up a bit loose or worse and leak.

Long story short only use metric with metric and fitting vendors will only guarantee if you use both their tube and fittings. EKHD tube is decent and relatively cheap...

Hope it helps.

Associate
OP