Switching.

Associate
I'm an avid gamer/computer programmer/web developer and I do a lot of work/gaming on my main computer (rig specifications below).

I'm just wondering, has anyone ever gone out and bought an apple product, more specifically an iMac (I'm buying the iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz model on Thursday) and then later thought "Oh, maybe I shouldn't of done that?", I'm having second thoughts now.

Why am I thinking this because, although yes:

- The 6770m can play most games at a decent level.
- The top of the line 21.5" iMac is an outstanding machine.

I like customisability and although Ram & HDD's are interchangeable on the mac, it is not as customisable as my PC.

You're probably thinking, "It's not Thursday yet, you've not bought it, why are you thinking like this?", well, I've already ordered it and i'm paying the family members who let me purchase this early on thurs when my Uni loan money goes in .. and then I'll back on track money wise.

I absolutely love Macs and what not and their operating system is second to none, but has anyone else ever been in a situation such as mine? or are you all extremely happy and not a person with doubts such as I?

Associate
OP
I can't wait for the newer versions, I don't really care about the new Ivy bridge personally, I just think for me, it's a bad call because the 6770m? it's not going to offer me any kind of outstanding performance is it? so..

I think I'm going to send it back, tbh.

Edit: I was thinking about sending it back > going to ebay > getting a cheap 2011 MBP from someone there > and then work on my pc parts and what not, that seems like a good route.

Associate
OP
Just a note on the GPU: The 6770m will be much slower than the desktop 6770, plus the gaming performance on OSX will be no where near what the 6770m will do on windows.