Switching.

Associate
I'm an avid gamer/computer programmer/web developer and I do a lot of work/gaming on my main computer (rig specifications below).

I'm just wondering, has anyone ever gone out and bought an apple product, more specifically an iMac (I'm buying the iMac 21.5" 2.7GHz model on Thursday) and then later thought "Oh, maybe I shouldn't of done that?", I'm having second thoughts now.

Why am I thinking this because, although yes:

- The 6770m can play most games at a decent level.
- The top of the line 21.5" iMac is an outstanding machine.

I like customisability and although Ram & HDD's are interchangeable on the mac, it is not as customisable as my PC.

You're probably thinking, "It's not Thursday yet, you've not bought it, why are you thinking like this?", well, I've already ordered it and i'm paying the family members who let me purchase this early on thurs when my Uni loan money goes in .. and then I'll back on track money wise.

I absolutely love Macs and what not and their operating system is second to none, but has anyone else ever been in a situation such as mine? or are you all extremely happy and not a person with doubts such as I?

Soldato
I agree with Raymond that I wouldn't buy an iMac now full stop, as there are rumours of a refresh within the next couple of months. If you can wait, I'd wait.

I bought a Macbook Pro last February, and I love it, but I don't use it enough as a mobile device as I thought, so I'm going to be swapping it out with an iMac when the refresh happens :)

I haven't really missed the customization I got with my PC... the OS is very easy to use :)

Soldato
Ivybridge iMacs (and MacBook Pros) should be arriving in the next month (give or take) so I wouldn't buy an iMac right now.

However as for buyers remorse. Never had that with any Apple product I've purchased. I don't game on any of my Macs though so YMMV.

Soldato