Synology ds218play Question's

Associate
Ok i am a novice in this area but am learning quick via youtube vids.

I am on the verge of buying a synology ds218play with 2x 3tb ironwolf drives. Currently i am using a wd my passport wireless pro to store stuff on and also to watch movies on my tv.

If i attach the synology to my router/network, will my tv be able to see and access the unit like it does with the western digital passport, basically i turn this on and my tv detects it and i see the movie list.

cheers

merry christmas when it arrives too :)

Soldato
If your TV is accessing media via the wireless network, then yes, assuming it’s DNLA or similar. Thing is, this is how people did things 20 years ago, now we have a range of front end applications to choose from that are a lot nicer and more user friendly to interact with. Have a look at the likes of Plex, Emby, Jellyfin etc. which can all do what you want/have now, but better. A big list of files doesn’t scale up well.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
cheers for the reply, my life is not that easy i am domesticated and married 28yrs my space is slowly reducing daily. i need a unit that is small ish to store everything on and play movies as a secondary option. Am going to guess emby jellyfin etc need to be installed on a pc
and the pc needs to be running in order for them to work?

Soldato
This isn't about WAF or space, this is the difference between a nice user friendly way to interact with your media and a list. The ds218play can run Plex, however it's using an ARMv8 CPU, personally i'd buy something else with an intel CPU to benefit from the added performance and potential hardware transcoding capabilities (DS218+ for example). I'd suggest at least watching a few youtube videos on Plex and seeing what it looks like vs what you have now, then consider what you want to spend and see what fits the bill.

Last edited:

Ev0

Ev0

Soldato
Also, if using Plex as an example, you’d need a Plex client for the TV somehow.