Tax - Wheres the incentive to earn more

Associate
I'm a graduate on the plan 2 student loan, im about 5 years into employment and earning a 'high' salary relative to most (c£70k). However any additional income I now earn is taxed at >50% despite only being in the 40% tax bracket. This is due to the student loan which is effectively an additional tax.

Even though I pay around £4k pa. on my student loan, due to the interest rate of RPI plus 3%, I'm not paying anything against the capital, only interest.

For example, I got my bonus of £6900 this month and my take home from that bonus was £3400.

Where is the incentive to earn more? Why is the government charging ludicrous rates of interest. Only the extremely high earners can afford to pay it off early, whereas the lower income don't pay anything at all, and like most of the time, the middle income earners pay the most of it.

I understand if people feel like I'm being selfish when im on a decent income, it just feels so demotivating to try to work harder when you get less than half of it in return.

Anyhow :)

Associate
OP
:confused::confused:

It isn't a tax. It is a bill you owe. Pay it off sooner and stop accruing interest.

No for plan 2 it's effectively a tax. You pay based on your earnings. 99% of people won't pay it off due to this. Only extremely high earners that can pay more monthly than the interest will pay it off. I won't be paying it off until I earn about £90k a year, assuming RPI doesn't go to extreme rates.

Why it isn't a debt

- it expires after 30 years of graduation - you don't pay it if you earn less than £25k a year. Why take the risk of paying it off?

Associate
OP
Well then shout at the clouds until you feel better.

Based on your opening post it sounded like you were on a good earnings trajectory. Do you have real concern you won't be earning well?