Technical interviews - prep

Soldato
So I narrowly missed the cut on the technical test I just took (14/20 required I scored 13). I am dead serious about wanting to move in the new year, so I want to be as prepared as I possibly can be.

So what are must knows for technical tests, what areas should I be reviewing? I am a Java developer, being in a small company means I do a bit of both backend and frontend.

The product I work on is client server based GUI using jnlp to download the client jars from a Tomcat webapp.

Ideally I'd like to move in to web frameworks using Spring MVC and similar, but this isn't something I use in work so I have to go on my experience with personal projects.

So far my experience tells me interviews don't tend to be specific to any frameworks/API's and focus on core language. My Java language knowledge is I think pretty good, but I suppose I am lacking in some more core computer science areas such as (I do have 2:1 comp-sci degree but it's been a while)

- Algorithms, what should I know. It's been 10 years or more since I've done things like binary search, quick sort, bubble sort etc.
- Data structures. My day to day use I use the standard ArrayList, HashSet, HashMap that's about it (our code is littered with Vectors too which I'm not overly pleased about, but refactoring these would be a big task). Things like LinkedList, TreeMap, Queue etc. I rarely use but I will occasionally look them up to remind myself
- Time complexity, I never 'got' Big-O notation when I was doing my comp-sci degree. I have looked up easier to read explanations (Wikipedia's mathematical expressions went right over my head) of it recently and I get it a bit better, but I'm not hugely confident I could look at an algorithm and say "Oh that's O(1), O(n), O(logn), O(nlogn), O(n^2) etc."