1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TFT MESS UP

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by INFECTION, Feb 4, 2006.

  1. INFECTION

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2005

    Posts: 527

    Location: Leeds

    hey guys i got a 19inch tft montior n it keeps going black but power light stays on ?? all cables are in fine but keeps doing it any one know of anything i can try coz i cant send it back coz i got it from my mate worked fine for like 4 days n now this :( plz help
     
  2. uknorthboy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 30, 2005

    Posts: 351

    If possible try another monitor on your pc to rule out a prob with your video card.
     
  3. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,963

    Location: UK

    try the screen on another PC? Make sure the resolution is set at 1280 x 1024? Make sure the refresh rate is set at 60Hz? If possible, try a different VGA cable? Maybe try it on DVI as well if it has it?
     
  4. INFECTION

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2005

    Posts: 527

    Location: Leeds

    refresh is at 120htz seems to work good on tht but i think its the monitor but its not got a dvi cable with it so cant try it will have to get one to rule out the card completly hope fully will be my card coz i need a new one i dont rly wonna have to spend more money on buying a new tft
    but thanks for the advice will let u know how it goes
     
  5. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,963

    Location: UK

    Refresh is on 120Hz?!?! :eek: you definitely want that down at 60Hz mate, thats the reommended and optimum refresh rate for a TFT, they dont work the same way as a CRT
     
  6. stvmor

    Gangster

    Joined: May 16, 2005

    Posts: 323


    Woah boy! Listen to the BADDASS, 120 is way to fast, like double what it's supposed to be???? :eek:
     
  7. Mana

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 8, 2002

    Posts: 4,051

    Location: .earth

    lol, tft noob :)

    mate turn that refresh rate down and pray that there is no permanent damage!

    :eek: :eek:
     
  8. INFECTION

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2005

    Posts: 527

    Location: Leeds

    i think thats whats happend at my m8s coz this just aint working at all its just turning the screen black all the time :( i need a monitor
     
  9. INFECTION

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2005

    Posts: 527

    Location: Leeds

    ok its got to the point where i cant be arsed to turn tft on and off to make it work for 5 mins its just making me :mad: so nicked my sisters crt its huge ugly n is taking up all of my desk does anyone have a 17 or 19 inch tft for sale?
     
  10. stvmor

    Gangster

    Joined: May 16, 2005

    Posts: 323

    Have you reset/do you know how to reset your refresh to 60 htz?
     
  11. INFECTION

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2005

    Posts: 527

    Location: Leeds

    yeh did that man still dint work correctly did it through my ati control pannel is there anyother way ?
     
  12. INFECTION

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2005

    Posts: 527

    Location: Leeds

    ok just tried to update the monitor drivers which it did i wonder if they have anything to do with it ?
     
  13. INFECTION

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 21, 2005

    Posts: 527

    Location: Leeds

    ok thats not worked either am starting to get a bit mad now :( would a dvi cable work do u think or would it just be a wastes of money buying one
     
  14. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,963

    Location: UK

    it might, but then you coudl well have damaged the monitor by running it at 120Hz. That's well outside the maximum supported refres rate. Maybe try a DVI cable, but at 60Hz! :)
     
  15. stvmor

    Gangster

    Joined: May 16, 2005

    Posts: 323

    Right click on desktop
    Properties
    Settings (tab)
    Advanced (button)
    monitor (tab)
    Screen refresh rate (set to 60)
     
  16. div0

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 12, 2006

    Posts: 3,577

    Location: Edinburgh

    /typo ;)
     
  17. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,963

    Location: UK

    which typo? :p (ah, stealth edits! :D)
     
  18. stvmor

    Gangster

    Joined: May 16, 2005

    Posts: 323

    I saw it buyt itssss nowt advisebubble 2 take theeeeeeeeeeee1!!! Pee out orf sum1 wiv BADDASS's power! :D