Thinking of going for a Microserver to replace NAS - a few questions...

Soldato
Per title I'm thinking of going for a Microserver to replace my Synology DS213 NAS and I was wondering about a few points as follows:
  1. Will it be possible to simply "slot in" my existing 2 x 2TB WD Red drives or will I need to format and start over?
  2. I've read that the XPEnology software is very DSM-like - is it fairly easy to install and use? (I've got limited knowledge of Linux and programs like Putty!)
  3. I've got an Intel NUC that's currently just running OpenElec (Kodi OS) - can this be integrated into the setup somehow?
  4. Can a Microserver read from NTFS and exFAT formatted memory cards and/or USB sticks?

As you can see I really don't know much about Microservers but there are a few issues on my Synology that are really bugging me - like the fact that Plex isn't supported anymore (and even when it was, it' wasn't powerful enough to transcode etc!)

Ideally I'd like an all-in-one solution to store my media and stream it to various devices around the house by either Kodi or Plex and also have the facility for torrenting etc!

Any help is really appreciated!

Associate
I have a microserver which I used to install XPEnology and it was a bit of a faff truth be told. It depends what your usage is to be honest. I use mine mainly as a file store and a plex server and if I had to do it all again id probably just use something like ubuntu or a similar linux distro and just install the plex server on that. In regards to NTFS or exFAT file systems it will depend on the OS you install.

Soldato
I ended up running unRAID on my Dell T20 (which is equivalent to a HP Microserver). It isn't free, but you can trial it for quite a while before having to commit.

Don
1. Will it be possible to simply "slot in" my existing 2 x 2TB WD Red drives or will I need to format and start over?