This a Windows Problem Or System Stability??

Associate
Joined
15 Oct 2007
Posts
2,124
Location
Bedfordshire, UK.
My current overclock, i have done:

20 passes with LinX
1 Hour of OCCT
Primed for 9 hours

Yet i have had my system lockup on me, baically i wont be doing anything stressful just browsing the net, then all of a sudden, all the lights on my keyboard and mouse will go out, and the system locks up. My system must be stable as ive passed LinX etc. So is it a windows 7 corruption fault, due to me finding my stable OC??
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Dec 2008
Posts
10,368
Location
England
Is load line calibration enabled or disabled? I believe crashing when idle is one of the issues you can hit with it on, one notch more vcore should hold it if so.

I vote reinstall windows (at stock, to be sure). Doesn't take long, and is good practice after exposing it to potential corruption anyway.
 
Associate
Joined
16 Sep 2009
Posts
144
Location
Milton Keynes, Bucks
I'm brand new to this overclocking business, but I had something similar. I'm using windows 7 too.

Basically I overclocked to 3.4Ghz and was dropping my vcore down until it either didnt boot, or prime95 would fail.

I thought it was stable so left it on overnight encoding video, came back in the morning to find it locked up with no input response.

I raised the vcore by a couple of notches and it was fine, so seems like jons answer could be the right one.
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Sep 2003
Posts
14,703
Location
London
My system must be stable as ive passed LinX etc.
Hi lettuce,

sadly as your finding out no one single stability test is thorough enough to give your system a 100% pass. The fact that you have done several different tests is good and shows that if it isn't 100% stable now it could be with just a few more minor adjustments.

Using your overclocked system normally should also be considered a vital part of testing, I always do that after Prime/IBT/OCCT/LinX has given me the thumbs up as I've run into similar problems as yourself in the past! The only reason not to spend time doing a Real-World Burn-In Test is if your feeling a bit impatient and in a rush to get the big clocks sorted . . .

As mentioned it is possible for the O/S to become bOrked through a bad overclock so its always good practice to have a complete O/S backup before you start overclocking, if it all goes Pete Tong then you can restore a pristine O/S back in like 10mins.

What you could do now is reset your system back to stock and run that for a day or two, if it is the O/S that is corrupt you will find the computer still crashes, if it doesn't you kinda know that your previous overclock was Work In Progress and needs a bit more Fine Tuning! :cool:
 
Last edited:
Caporegime
Joined
14 Dec 2005
Posts
28,071
Location
armoy, n. ireland
Unfortunately ive found stability issues with an overclocked system, i passed ibt, linx p95 small fft, large and blend, only to discover a problem with drivers. im primarily a gamer and a while back i was having serious issues with games with the latest nvidia drivers. i rolled back to an earlier version and never had any more issues.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
15 Oct 2007
Posts
2,124
Location
Bedfordshire, UK.
Ok guys thanks for the input. Another thing i have noticed aswell is that my user name and passwards for forums doesnt keep me login in after a systems lockup, like with this forum, i have to enter my details all the time, even though i tick the box for remembering my login details, which is why i thought/think its a windows issue not my overclock. I dont see how my system could be stable under stress from Prime (blend) for over 9 hours but not really be stable when it comes to do less stressful stuff.

These are my current voltages:

Vcore 1.268
QPI 1.275
IOH Core 1.14
CPU PLL 1.3
DRAM 1.640

to be fiar i was dissapointed that i couldnt get them any lower, especially the QPI, oh and i do have LLC enabled, is it best to have ti disbaled then? Also what about the power saving features, i have them all enabled apart from the C states
 
Soldato
Joined
22 Dec 2008
Posts
10,368
Location
England
LLC on or off is an argument into itself. However with it on, voltage will tend to dip when idle rather than under load. If voltage dips too low, the system will be unstable. When you load it, the voltage stays high so the system stays stable.

I think you just need a windows reinstall.
 
Soldato
Joined
6 Dec 2008
Posts
2,692
Location
Burghead, Elgin
Lettuce, I think you are expecting to much in regards to getting those voltages lower mate, there is absolutely nothing wrong with them..

I also agree that you need to reinstall windows.
 
Top Bottom