1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

This Mobile Athlon Cpu Overclocking

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Ventilated, 21 May 2006.

  1. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    Hello :)

    I was just wondering if this chip is a good overclocker.

    The code on it says

    AXMH2400FQQ4C

    AMD Athlon-M XP 2400+
     
  2. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,047

    Location: Rutland

    Should be quite nice, its a barton core, which is always good. IQYHA is the best stepping iirc, but I think I remember a few nice FQQ4C clocks too :)
     
    Last edited: 21 May 2006
  3. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    Also i was wondering, will this cpu work on a MSI KT6V Series motherboard??

    Thanks!
     
  4. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    Anyone??
     
  5. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,047

    Location: Rutland

    I had a look and I think they do work together :)
     
  6. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    where did you look :D

    Thanks!
     
  7. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,047

    Location: Rutland

    I googled the motherboard and mobile athlon, found a guy selling a bundle of that mobo and a mobile CPU, but it was in portugese, so I translated it with goolge and he says they worked together fine. Whether or not thats reliable is another matter :D
     
  8. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    was it a 2400+?
     
  9. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,047

    Location: Rutland

    No it was a 2600+ but that won't make any difference.
     
  10. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    Oh ok thanks :)
     
  11. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

  12. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,047

    Location: Rutland

    Its not really surprising, I don't think any motherboards are officially allowed to support them due to restrictions by AMD.

    As long as your mobo has FSB, multiplier and Vcore settings you should be fine.
     
  13. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    yes it does.. I think :)
     
  14. Fulcrum

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Feb 2004

    Posts: 606

    Location: Black Mountains


    A FQQ4C can be IQYHA, AXMH2400FQQ4C is only the first part of the code quoted on the chip. IQYHA comes later in a part he has not quoted.

    is mine for example

    http://www.cpu-world.com/info/id/AMD-K7-identification.html#Mobile_Athlon_XP_M

    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K7/AMD-Mobile Athlon XP-M 2500+ - AXMH2500FQQ4C.html
     
  15. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    hmm well ive only got a picture of it so far.

    I can see the first 2 letters are IQ but the rest are too hard to see and the last letter is an A
     
  16. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,047

    Location: Rutland

    Thats bound to be an IQYHA then, great stepping :)
     
  17. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,047

    Location: Rutland

  18. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    heres the picture i have of the cpu

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    does that look good to you?
     
  20. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,455

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Chill out there Tom,

    All is well - they'll work fine together! :)

    My KT6V works perfectly with a 2800-M.

    Mark