• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Tomb Raider Legend NG Content

Soldato
Joined
11 Jan 2004
Posts
4,285
Location
In The Wilds.
Should run it very nicely I'd say,I played the game a couple of months or so back on an X1900xtx clocked only to ATI overdrive levels @1900x1200,it was smooth throughout.

An X1900XT at the same or lesser resolution should cope admirably,especially considering the XT's generally overclock to XTX levels and beyond.
 
Associate
Joined
29 May 2005
Posts
437
Funny,
can't say I was too impressed with the X1900XT at 1920x1200 with next-gen effects on.. :confused:
Even with Crossfire, I wouldn't call it upto scratch..........frame-rate rules over marginally good-looking effects anyway..
Next-gen mode in TR was essentially tacked on I feel..
 
Suspended
Joined
17 Mar 2006
Posts
9,055
Does slow down on my rig, dig site shoot out and end of game baddie. Isn't this a xbox 360 port anyway. It runs ok but not at a great/perfectly smooth framerate
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
30 Jul 2005
Posts
19,480
Location
Midlands
yea interested in what the framerate was. i was able to play farcry at 1152x864 with hdr on and get around 40fps on my 7600gt which was overclocked. yet someone i know who has a similar spec to my system but uses a 6800nu says it runs great at 1280x1024.

all i wonder is how can it run great since i used to have a 6800nu that unlocked to 16 pipes and overlocked it heavily and the game with hdr enabled only gave 40+fps at around 1024x768. with hdr off can run game at 1600x1200 2xAA with no problems on the 6800nu.

some people have different levels of acceptable framrates. the above situation is mainly of a console gamer i know and he sees anything above 15fps as playable.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
30 Jul 2005
Posts
19,480
Location
Midlands
ajgoodfellow said:
I didn't look - it was smooth though IMO

I'll load it up tonight after work and post back with the actual FPS


how come you can only run it at 1280x1024 where as smit101 can run it at 1900x1200? you both seem to have a similar specs, or is smit running a crossfire setup?
 
Permabanned
Joined
13 Nov 2005
Posts
4,158
It runs pretty awful on all hardware available.. X1900XTX will give you a borderline playable framerate @1280*1024 with frequent drops into the 20's and even teens in places.. If somebody thinks this is playable at 1920*1200 there smoking crack.. :o

It’s completely unplayable on my GX2 even at 1280*1024... I game at 1920*1200 btw where possible.. To enjoy this game I would recommend X1950XTX CF or 7950GX2 SLI.. lol
 
Associate
Joined
29 May 2005
Posts
437
Not even sure a X1950 Crossfire would do it, theres not way I'd play it at 1920x1200 with effects on, and thats on X1900 Crossfire.........last time I looked at it was on the Ghana level (where you jump down into lake) and its nowhere near playable (at least to me)..
May give it a go someday at a lower res or look at more of the levels, but I think the Next-Gen mode stands very poorly implemented if GX2s and X19X0s can't move it..
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Jan 2004
Posts
4,285
Location
In The Wilds.
Shocky-FM said:
It runs pretty awful on all hardware available.. X1900XTX will give you a borderline playable framerate @1280*1024 with frequent drops into the 20's and even teens in places.. If somebody thinks this is playable at 1920*1200 there smoking crack.. :o

It’s completely unplayable on my GX2 even at 1280*1024... I game at 1920*1200 btw where possible.. To enjoy this game I would recommend X1950XTX CF or 7950GX2 SLI.. lol

Well I ain't smoking crack mate,I gave it up! :D I played it with next gen content on @ 1920x1200 without AA admittedly,it ran o.k with only the occasional slow down.
 
Permabanned
Joined
13 Nov 2005
Posts
4,158
mcdermotx said:
Not even sure a X1950 Crossfire would do it, theres not way I'd play it at 1920x1200 with effects on, and thats on X1900 Crossfire.........last time I looked at it was on the Ghana level (where you jump down into lake) and its nowhere near playable (at least to me)..

That's surprising as the X1900XTX’s are getting better performance here then NVIDIA’s cards from my experience... That might have something to do with NVIDIA processing the shadows correctly though which might be killing performance.. lol :)

smit101 said:
Well I ain't smoking crack mate,I gave it up! :D I played it with next gen content on @ 1920x1200 without AA admittedly,it ran o.k with only the occasional slow down.

I hear this from people all the time, lesser hardware running faster then high end cards so you just fall into that category of people who I just don’t pay much attention to and certainly don’t believe.
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Jan 2004
Posts
4,285
Location
In The Wilds.
Shocky-FM said:
That's surprising as the X1900XTX’s are getting better performance here then NVIDIA’s cards from my experience... That might have something to do with NVIDIA processing the shadows correctly though which might be killing performance.. lol :)



I hear this from people all the time, lesser hardware running faster then high end cards so you just fall into that category of people who I just don’t pay much attention to and certainly don’t believe.

What are you talking about! I ran it on an X1900XTX,a [email protected] and 2 gig of pc 4000 Ballistix ram,how is that lesser hardware? it's a damn nippy rig in my book mate! and I really DO NOT! appreciate being called a liar.
 
Back
Top Bottom