UniFi USG with TalkTalk Router

Associate
Hi all

Newbie here.

I have setup a UniFi Cloud Key Gen2, 2 x UAP-AC-PRO and UniFi PoE switch all at the same site and everything seems to be working ok. The router being used is the ISPs router (TalkTalk).

Now at the same site, I need to also install a USG but I simply cannot manage to do it. I must be doing something wrong. Is it the case that I cannot use the TalkTalk router amd instead go for something like a Draytek?

UniFi online chat reps have been next to useless.

The reason why I posted on this forum is because after having done a few google searches, I see there are some UnFi experts on here.

Hoping someone can help. @WJA96 maybe you can help?

Many thanks.

but that doesn't remove double-NAT which seems like what the OP is experiencing here.
Which is why most people just chuck an old modem in between to fix it.
I re-read, you're right.

OP needs an Openreach modem, plug that into the phone line and USG into that, then it should work (pending adoption and correct WAN config of course).

but that doesn't remove double-NAT which seems like what the OP is experiencing here.
Which is why most people just chuck an old modem in between to fix it.

We don't know what internet connection the OP has, if it's FTTP then there's no modem needed. That's why I asked what sort of internet connection they had.

There was no mention of double NAT.

I assume you’re on ADSL or VDSL? If you’re on FTTP you can dispense with the TalkTalk router just so long as you have the login credentials.

The most likely problem is that the router is in the same IP address range as the USG. The USG defaults to 192.168.1.x

On the TalkTalk router you need to change the DHCP range to something other than 1 in the third range - so 192.168.2.x or 192.168.0.x so it’s not in conflict with the USG. Then, on the USG just set it to DHCP and it will pass traffic.