University - changing/reapplying to different university/course

Soldato
Hi all,
I was wondering if anyone has swapped courses and universities after completing a first year and could advise me.

I've asked tutors but without a suitable resolution. Never answered my questions.

I am currently taking a hiatus from my current university where I am studying 1st year Physiotherapy. I will have to retake the year in 2019.

However, due to difficulties and personal reasons I am in the process of applying for Occupational Therapy at a different university.

This requires a personal statement as my prior application.

The problem I am having is understanding whether I can use my last personal statement as a basis because the reasons for applying and my difficulties have not changed. The course is very similar so a lot still applies.

On the UCAS website it mentions that a prior application is not subject to the plagiarism check if I am reading the statement correctly. The personal statement will be different but experiences will be similar and I do not want it to fail before I start.

Caporegime
You can self-plagiarise and it attracts the same penalties as "normal" plagiarism.

Yeah true, though that is more like handing in say largely the same essay for say two different modules say etc...

In this case he's making an application and lots of the personal statement he already wrote basically still applies, though he perhaps needs to change a little bit to explain why occupational therapy etc.. rather than physical therapy.

Can you contact UCAS OP?

Also do you not have the option to change courses at your current university without needing to re-apply?

Associate
I've just googled that and find that pretty crazy it exists. Why should you not be allowed to use the same content for a different content.