1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unstable overclock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by OldCoals, Jan 11, 2018.

  1. OldCoals

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 5, 2010

    Posts: 14,724

    I have a 4690k running at 4GHz, 1.25v but my PC will just raster from time to time.

    Where do I start to make it stable?
     
  2. bremen1874

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 7,621

    raster?
     
  3. OldCoals

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 5, 2010

    Posts: 14,724

    Raster?
     
  4. DarkHorizon472

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 16, 2007

    Posts: 1,104

    Babylon.
     
  5. mattyfez

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 12, 2007

    Posts: 8,051

    Did you overclock it yourself?
    Load default settings to check you don't get the same issue at standard. This will rule out a hardware issue.

    Sounds like you might just need a little more voltage though, increase it to say 1.35, see if that stabilises things. If all is well, start decreasing the voltage back towards where you were to try and figure out the minimum voltage you need to be stable.

    Keep an eye on temperature obviously.
     
  6. OldCoals

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 5, 2010

    Posts: 14,724

    Isn't 1.3v a bit high for 4GHz?
     
  7. mattyfez

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 12, 2007

    Posts: 8,051

    Probably but it's a fairy safe voltage, I was thinking if he bumps it up and that stabilises things, then he can dial it back down a bit.

    That said, he's not said what he means by 'rastering'.. Could be a hardware fault like a bad graphics card, so I'd suggest he resets everything to default first, to see if the issue remains.
     
  8. harvey.l12

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 29, 2014

    Posts: 652

    Location: Chesterfield, UK

    you just need to find the CPU's stable V-core for that frequency, trial and error really.
     
  9. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 3,751

    Location: Leeds

    play it some bob marley?

    tbh 1.25v is way too high for 4ghz. it really should do 4.4ghz at least on 1.3v. what bsod does it come up with?
     


Share This Page