• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Upgrade Advice

Associate
Hullo!

I'm currently running an i5-4690K (4 cores, 4 threads) in an H97-HD3 (socket LGA 1150), with 12 Gb of DDR3 across 4 sticks. Graphics card is a Geforce GTX 970. I've been running this for a few years without major problems, but it's just starting to creak on the newer games, especially at 1440 resolutions, which is native for my monitor.

After some advice - what's likely to give the biggest performance boost for gaming? Newer graphics card, or new mobo/cpu (and presumably memory?). Looking to minimise the spend (and time upgrading/reinstalling) if possible. In essence, is it time to retire the mobo/cpu/memory yet?

Cheers in advance!

Soldato
If you play only older games made in four cores is high end Intel stagnation or lighter games, then GPU.
In newer heavier games by todays standards really low end 4c/4t CPU is bottleneck if you upgrade GPU.

For example Assassin's Creed Odyssey already scales past 8 cores.
And next-gen consoles bringing slightly underclocked variant of 8c/16t Ryzen 3700X will certainly start core demand increase in multiplatter games.

Associate