Upgrade Q's

Soldato
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
13,305
Location
South Yorkshire
Ok currently have an athlon xp 2800 barton with 768mb memory.

Would like to upgrade to something that i can clock, current idea's i have involves these components,

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 90nm Retail £105
G.Skill 1GB DDR ZX PC3200 (2x512MB) CAS2 Dual Channel Kit (F1-3200PHU2-1GBZX) (MY-002-GS) £70
DFI LanParty UT NF4 Ultra-D (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-014-DF) £93

Total £268

Will just get cheap pci graphics card for the time being, does that seem a good system for clocking, and what could i expect clocking wise?

Cheers.
 
Joined
20 Oct 2005
Posts
5,938
I can get my 3200 up to 2.6 stable but havent tried any higher.
WOuld you not be better going for geil value 2 gig. You will be using a divider anyway so I dont think you will see any improvement using that ram.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
13,305
Location
South Yorkshire
williamw11 said:
I can get my 3200 up to 2.6 stable but havent tried any higher.
WOuld you not be better going for geil value 2 gig. You will be using a divider anyway so I dont think you will see any improvement using that ram.

Yeah maybe, new to this overclocking lark, however i heard the 3200 was a decent clocker, and i thought that memory looked good. Like you say though i may be better with the geil stuff, although im not sure i will use/need 2gig memory.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
25,821
Location
Glasgow
You could also consider the Opteron 146 in the clearance section which ought to offer decent clocking potential, it is slightly more expensive though.

I'd agree about the 2gb Ram, it seems like a better option and should last you longer. As for graphics card an X800 GTO based card is probably about the best value at the moment at ~£60 for a 128mb card or ~£75 for a 256mb card again in the clearance section.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
13,305
Location
South Yorkshire
semi-pro waster said:
You could also consider the Opteron 146 in the clearance section which ought to offer decent clocking potential, it is slightly more expensive though.

N00b question alert what socket is the operton?

Ps re the memory my budget is pretty tight so i dont tihink i can stretch much higher. :)
 
Last edited:
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
25,821
Location
Glasgow
cymatty said:
N00b question alert what socket is the operton?

Good point, I'd forgotten about that, some Opterons were 939 pin and some were 940 pin I think so the only way to be sure would be to ask OcUK :)

Since it doesn't mention it specifically it may well be socket 940, in which case ignore my suggestion.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
13,305
Location
South Yorkshire
semi-pro waster said:
Good point, I'd forgotten about that, some Opterons were 939 pin and some were 940 pin I think so the only way to be sure would be to ask OcUK :)

Since it doesn't mention it specifically it may well be socket 940, in which case ignore my suggestion.

Ok :p ;) What about the mobo is that a good board for clocking.
 
Back
Top Bottom