Upgrading a P.C for £600?

Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Posts
133
Location
~
Hi my friend has an Advent Centurion CPQ9104

Specification:
* AMD Phenom X4 9650 Quad-Core processor
* (2.3GHz, 2MB Cache)
* Genuine Windows(R) 7 Home Premium
* 4GB DDR2 memory
* 640GB hard drive
* 512MB ATI Radeon HD4350 graphics
* DVD Rewriter
* Built-in wireless (802.11b/g)

And basically has £600 to spend on upgrading it. He'd like to play games highest settings possible at 1080p. I suggested getting a 660TI and an AMD cpu but not sure which and get a asus monitor for around £200.

Does that sound like a suitable upgrade for what he is after?

Any advice will be much appreciated.
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Apr 2011
Posts
12,285
Location
Newark
If you are looking at upgrading the Cpu, it would help to know which mobo you have to see what Cpus are compatible. Looking at a spec for this system, all it says is, it is a Foxconn.
Also, what Psu does it have, make and model?
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
23 Jan 2013
Posts
404
Location
Derby
Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Posts
133
Location
~
If you are looking at upgrading the Cpu, it would help to know which mobo you have to see what Cpus are compatible. Looking at a spec for this system, all it says is, it is a Foxconn.
Also, what Psu does it have, make and model?

Yes your right it's a Foxconn which seem to only support AM2 cpus? so i guess this will need upgrading? Don't know what psu.


What monitor does he currently have?


A piece of junk one not even worth mentioning..



Or should i just recommend him get the Titan 8700i Pulse P.C

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FS-247-OE&tool=3
 
Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Posts
133
Location
~
I second this, great cpu, gpu is very nice too especially considering the performance per £££.

This as an upgrade from what you have now is a big jump!

It's not for me it's for my friend haha. I don't think that cpu is compatable with his motherboard unfortunately.
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Apr 2011
Posts
12,285
Location
Newark
Yes your right it's a Foxconn which seem to only support AM2 cpus? so i guess this will need upgrading? Don't know what psu.





A piece of junk one not even worth mentioning..



Or should i just recommend him get the Titan 8700i Pulse P.C

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FS-247-OE&tool=3

If you were to opt for the Titan, you would still need to pay another £150 for a decent Gpu. And that extra £150 would get you a very decent monitor.
So, for around £750, would get him this.

YOUR BASKET
1 x Intel Core i5-3570K 3.40GHz (Ivybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor (77W) - Retail £179.99
1 x MSI HD 7870 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card (R7870-2GD5T/OC) £161.99
1 x Samsung S24B150BL 23.6" Widescreen LED Monitor - Glossy Black £119.99
1 x Asus P8Z77-V LX2 Intel Z77 (Socket 1155) DDR3 Motherboard £77.99
1 x Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 1TB SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache - OEM (ST1000DM003) HDD £49.99
1 x Thermaltake Smart Series 530w Modular '80Plus Bronze' Power Supply £49.99
1 x Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (BLS2CP4G3D1609DS1S00CEU) £43.99
1 x Xigmatek Asgard Pro Gaming Case - Black £32.99
Total : £731.92 (includes shipping : £12.50).

 
Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Posts
133
Location
~
I know but i'm building this for him and honestly, i can't be bothered lol.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Posts
133
Location
~
Alright that looks good, he wants to keep his current case though. Should leave him enough for mouse and keyboard.
 
Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Posts
133
Location
~
minus the monitor, psu and hard drive as he has both in his current p.c can i just strip the p.c install new parts in the case?
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Apr 2011
Posts
12,285
Location
Newark
What is the make and model of his Psu. More than likely it will be a cheap unbranded unit, so it would make sense to get a decent one now and not wait for it to blow and take everything out with it.
This would be a better overall system.

YOUR BASKET
1 x Intel Core i5-4670K 3.40GHz (Haswell) Socket LGA1150 Processor - Retail with FREE Grid 2 PC Game £194.99
1 x MSI HD 7870 Black Knight 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card (R7870-2GD5T/OC) £167.99
1 x Gigabyte Z87M-D3H Intel Z87 (Socket 1150) DDR3 Micro ATX Motherboard £97.99
1 x Thermaltake Smart Series 530w Modular '80Plus Bronze' Power Supply £49.99
1 x TeamGroup Elite Black 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C11 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (TED38GM1600HC11DC01) £47.99
1 x Thermalright Macho 120 CPU Cooler (Socket 775 / 1150 / 1155 / 1156 / 1366 / 2011 / AM2 / AM2+ / AM3 / FM1 / FM2) £29.99
Total : £600.94 (includes shipping : £10.00).

 
Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Posts
133
Location
~
He probably has about £500 that's why he doesn't want a monitor, is all that going to fit in his advent case any idea?
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Apr 2011
Posts
12,285
Location
Newark
minus the monitor, psu and hard drive as he has both in his current p.c can i just strip the p.c install new parts in the case?

Just take out the parts you are going to replace and give it a good clean, especially the fans. If the case only has 1 fan, it might pay him to install another one at the front of the case for better air circulation.
You might also want to do a fresh install of the OS and as it is probably an OEM version, it will likely need to be activated via phone.
Just follow the instructions from the mobo manual and you can`t go wrong.
 
Soldato
Joined
14 Apr 2011
Posts
12,285
Location
Newark
He probably has about £500 that's why he doesn't want a monitor, is all that going to fit in his advent case any idea?

Not a 100% sure, as I have no idea as to the case or it`s specs. So you will have to measure the distance from the expansion slots(at the rear of the case) to the hdd bays, to make sure the Gpu will fit.. Also, check the dimensions of the mobo you are buying against the one already installed and see how much clearance there is if the boards are different sizes. Also measure the width of the case to see if the cooler will also fit.
 
Top