URL customisation rewrite? www.url.co.uk/?brand=branda

Thanks its using PHP

(You'd probably gathered I'm not a coder)

So how does the URL command then talk to the stylesheet to tell it that it wants a different brand logo? does it replace a div name on the page to do this?

Thanks

Hi thanks for your help guys sorry for the late reply - on the last reply from Spunkey - where would I reference the location of the logos storred? would I put the full url or dir in the areas you currently have logoa.jpg?

Can this method also work to swap a DIV out instead? IE if I have a div that specifies the correct formatting and logo within it - instead of just swapping out the .jpg or .png file can it just replace the div id like

<div id="logo1">
<div id="logo2>

ect?

Works a charm thanks Spunkey - whats the cleanest way to put in a default div like the example above with the default $logo

How would I do what Jestar suggested but with Div's not direct image links?

I've tried:

<?php

$known_logos = array (
'a' => '<div id="a"></div>',
'b' => '<div id="b"></div>');

$default_logo = 'a';

$logo_to_use = isset($_GET['brand']) && isset($known_logos[$_GET['brand']])
? $known_logos[$_GET['brand']]
: $default_logo;

?>

I'm trying to rewrite with the htaccess but not having much luck - not sure if I'm setting my rule backwards or not but either don't seem to work:

I want:

www.example.co.uk/first/second/index.php?brand=a

to rewrite to

www.example.co.uk/first/a/second

so that I can use the neater url to show people the correct page

This is the rule I thought would work:

RewriteEngine on

RewriteRule ^first/a/second$ first/second/index.php?brand=a

The rewrite rule doesn't seem to be working either - am I right in thinking that the first part of the rule should be the new pretty link I want and the second part of the rule is the original link?