1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

VF-700 users ...HELP !

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by asd1301, 24 May 2006.

  1. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    errr....just came back from vacation ' bought there the VF 700 ALCU
    installed it now !
    it's doing nothing ! :( except less noise of course
    when i open the ATT window "3d renderer" (where all the find max core\mem\artifacts) still .....the card hit 73 C !

    :mad:

    :confused:
     
  2. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,455

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    Is that the ATI tool?

    Have you checked to see what the gradients are with the fan for when it changes speed with Temperature?

    I wouldnt see 73 as being horrendously bad for a card under full load.

    What did you get with stock cooler?

    Also, what is your case airflow like?

    M
     
  3. bbreezeuk

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 21 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,140

    Location: Bath, UK

    what ATI card do u have?, that temps seems very hot with a vf-700 on have u tried re- seating the cooler, is there to much thermal paste on ther as that will insulate the core
     
  4. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    hmmmmm......

    it's an GTO2 520 \ 580 16P

    the the bottom line is ....that it's exactly the same ...but EXACTLY !
    before : stock 43 ENV 41 effort 73 in ATI TRAY TOOL WINDOW and 67 in BF2
    now after instaling the VF 700 ...EXACTLY the same :
    stock 42 ENV 41 effort 72 in ATI TRAY TOOL WINDOW and 66 in BF2

    ok 1 C !!...big deal !!
    :mad:

    thermal paste is mx1 ...put some in the middle and spread it to fill the GPU
     
  5. Rain Man

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Jan 2005

    Posts: 975

    Location: Macclesfield

    if your using the fanmate make sure its turned up
     
  6. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    what's fanmat ?
    the fan is working of course .
     
  7. Mr Paul

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,571

    Location: Reading UK

    What fan speed are you running? Yo have two connectors, one for 12v and one for low speed 5v. Make sure its connected to the 12v full speed line.
     
  8. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    ohhh...

    u mean that ...
    the 12V black conector ....
     
  9. nO}{8

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,569

    Location: in the clouds

    reseat the cooler.
     
  10. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    ok..

    today i have time i'll reSEAT it ...hope it will be ok ...
    bf2 get to 70 C !!! (played some yesterday)

    btw
    nO}{8...?
    i see u got the dell \ apple "2005fpw"
    saw that screen at a game show last week....
    it's an amazing screen !
    how much it cost ?
    and... if it's fit to playing FPS games ? (how much ms..4...8...12...16...)

    10x.
     
    Last edited: 26 May 2006
  11. nO}{8

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,569

    Location: in the clouds

    12ms, very good for games and good picture. £350 a while back from dell direct.
     
  12. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    £350 ...

    £350 .....
    can u plz translate to $$$ ?
    10x
    and what do u mean by
    " while back from dell direct "

    since i saw that screen i'm realyyy thinking about getting 1 ...
    the problem is that i hate LCD TEXT letters FONT
     
  13. nO}{8

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,569

    Location: in the clouds

     
  14. [email protected]

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 2,455

    Location: Newcastle upon Toon

    level of laziness?? ;)

    M
     
  15. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    GREAT !

    just RESEAT the vf-700 cleaned and use this time the thermal cream that came with the zalman

    AGAIN !!!
    nothing !
    same ..
    rest 44 C !!!
    in games 65-72 !!!
     
  16. Noni

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 4 Nov 2005

    Posts: 742

    What about the difference in noise?

    How much thermal paste are you using?

    What case have you got?

    If you want to get the best-

    -Get some ARTIC SILVER 5, and use a tiny bit of that on the core. Clean both the core and the cooler well with alchaol.

    -Put the fan at 12V

    -Give the fan some nice cool air.

    If that dont work then go for the VF900!
     
  17. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    ...

    less noise of course
    thermal paste little some . exactly how it should be
    case - compucase 69a
    it is on 12v (black)
     
  18. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 31,229

    Location: Tosche Station

    Seriously those temps are NOT that bad, what's your case airflow like?

    My 6800GT overclocked reaches high 90's during gaming with the vf700.
     
  19. asd1301

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Oct 2005

    Posts: 190

    ......

    airflow is ok
    problem is that it didn't change anything that buy ....
    (VF 700)
    IDLE is 45 C NOW !!!