vista basic 32bit OEM , where can I get it ?

Soldato
Joined
20 May 2010
Posts
3,040
Location
World
Hi Folks,
I was wondering if someone can help me out I have to re-install a laptop
that has vista 32 bit Basic (OEM) on it , it has a valid windows sticker
so the key is not a problem , but getting media to re-install is.

Can anyone point me to a working download link to get the iso of it ?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
19 Oct 2012
Posts
27
You could get a disk from ebay. I would expect the normal retail version to work but you may well have to do a manual telephone activation.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
20 May 2010
Posts
3,040
Location
World
Thanks folks , I am going to try the links from more speed first , that will
be the easiest to test out

I tried using a dell vista 32 OEM home premium disk , but it would not accept the key :(
 
Associate
Joined
14 Dec 2005
Posts
563
Location
Dublin
I had luck with a retail vista ultimate iso that I needed to use to install and license a vista business OEM key. I don't quite remember offhand but there was a file in the ISO that I had to modify which allowed me to choose which version of Vista I was installing at install time. The OEM key then licensed no bother.

I think ultimate is meant to be the best ISO to try get hold of (bar of course an actual vista basic ISO!) as it'll contain all the versions?
 
Associate
Joined
8 Jan 2009
Posts
1,492
Location
Northern Ireland
lurkio
Thanks folks , I am going to try the links from more speed first , that will
be the easiest to test out

I tried using a dell vista 32 OEM home premium disk , but it would not accept the key

You can use any OEM disc on any OEM system, the only thing different is the key. Are you sure the key is not the problem, if so, then a quick call to Microsoft will sort that out.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
20 May 2010
Posts
3,040
Location
World
Well I just tried mr speeds linked method and it does not work :(
It accepts the key and then errors saying that it cannot access Install.wim file


I checked the Install.wim file and it is 2G in size .... but only contains one file
not the loads that it is supposed to

Trying this right now
http://forums.anandtech.com/archive/index.php/t-2232457.html

To see if these download links are correct
 
Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Joined
20 May 2010
Posts
3,040
Location
World
Update:

I tried the method from the annatech link and it WORKS! :)

I have made both x86 and 64 bit version ISO's , tested the x86 one and it works great

Thanks for all the help guys, especially those offering me discs :)
 
Top Bottom