Volts

Soldato
Joined
6 Jul 2006
Posts
2,503
Location
South East
Volt issue perhaps or duff mobo?

Friend's got issues with his PC just switching it's self off and asked me to take a look. Only done it once in the day ive had it on test round mine, instant shutdown as if someone pulled the mains plug out. :confused: So i looked at the PSU (500w), installed 2005 so should run Dual core 3800+, Asus mobo, two hd, 2 dvd drives, 1 floppy, x1950 and about 6 case fans easy...

I took a screen cap of the volts (see thumnail clicky), thats on idle and they hardly move at all, seem fine in games aswell. It must be power related but the 12v rail seems ok so hazzard a guess and say hes mobo playing up? Anyone had this kinda weird instant shutting down happen as i dont know what to advise him with regards to resolving the problem. :confused:

Edit: Should add he's system fans etc dont show up on that screeny coz they run off a fan control unit fitted in drive bay, i looked at that and thought 'omg deffo borked mobo' then noticed whats going on wire wise inside later ;) Oh and ive checked for any weird virus related goings on but the pc is viral free....

 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
23 Oct 2002
Posts
1,684
Location
Moseley
http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp

Have a go at that link and make sure you go for 30% aging.

"Electrolytic capacitor aging. When used heavily or over an extended period of time (1+ years) a power supply will slowly lose some of its initial wattage capacity. We recommend you add 20% if you plan to keep your PSU for more than 1 year, or 25-30% for 24/7 usage and 1+ years."

If the components exceed the new rating then that is likely your problem.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
6 Jul 2006
Posts
2,503
Location
South East
Well that test page said 445w with 1+ years age (he dont use it 24/7) and tbh ive seen that thing before and also been told its a load of **** so who knows? :) The PSU is not unbranded, goes by name of Jeantech who ive heard of and seen in some high street retailers. Build wise it not bad tbh, has two decent fans cooling and seems dust free...
 
Associate
Joined
23 Oct 2002
Posts
1,684
Location
Moseley
445 is close enough for me to consider it to be a potential issue. Especially if we consider that the Jeantech may have only 480 watts to begin with but was rounded up to 500 as is often the case.

The way to test if the PSU is borderline, is for him to run the machine with less devices, and see if it crashes still... ditch the two optical drives and the floppy. Or to downclock the high power draw devices like the CPU.

If it still crashes with minimal components then I would think about the motherboard and other devices being at fault.

Run MEMTEST86 on the memory - check tha fans and heatsinks are clean...
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
6 Jul 2006
Posts
2,503
Location
South East
Allready been through memtest loop ages last night with no issues (iirc you get bluescreen then reset if its memory related, not a power down?), ill ditch the DVD/RW drives and see how it goes. Only have till late Sunday then he needs it back - so if i cant solve problem before then ill get him to run it on min required power draw for the week and see what happens...
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
6 Jul 2006
Posts
2,503
Location
South East
Hmmm how very annoying, spent good couple of hours messing about with it and what do find.... a bit of bare wire on one case fan missing skin and touching case shell! :mad: Must have somehow got snagged and damaged, tbh he's very lucky that system undamaged, anyway problem solved and now im due a few free drinks for my troubles me-thinks. :D
 
Back
Top Bottom