Waterblock for rx 480 ?

Associate
Hello, I have a 5-year old XFX RX 480, which has worked great for me so far. Now I would like to water cool it, to get a bit better temperatures(and performance) and get rid of the fan noise. My plan was to build a full CPU - GPU water cooling loop, and later when the GPU prices normalize to upgrade the GPU only and keep the loop.
I couldn't find anywhere to buy a rx 480 water block. It seems to be discontinued. Can you help me find somewhere? Also is this a good idea? I'm new to water cooling.

Soldato
Honestly don't bother, it's not worth the cost or hassle for what is now a pretty low range end card. Wont find any new waterblocks.

If your temps are that bad, you could whack a Morpheus cooler on it, but again diminishing returns but will be quieter. Not sure if they're compatible with the RX 480s though!

If you want to go custom loop i'd personally just do a cpu only loop and then when you get a new card get a block for it then plumb that in. Note though that generally only the higher end cards will get waterblocks released, or if it's a mid range model, the money you spend on a block etc, you could then could probably have bought the better/higher spec card which would obviously outperform it.

Last edited:
Associate
Hello, I have a 5-year old XFX RX 480, which has worked great for me so far. Now I would like to water cool it, to get a bit better temperatures(and performance) and get rid of the fan noise. My plan was to build a full CPU - GPU water cooling loop, and later when the GPU prices normalize to upgrade the GPU only and keep the loop.
I couldn't find anywhere to buy a rx 480 water block. It seems to be discontinued. Can you help me find somewhere? Also is this a good idea? I'm new to water cooling.

I have this exact use case. It depends on exactly what model of RX480 you have as the layout of the board is different between models.