Webserver/Wordpress - what hardware?

Associate
Hi guys, I have been looking for the last few weeks to move my website, currently hosted on office 365/sharepoint online, to a proper wordpress version.

I would preferably like to host it myself because, alongside this I have a few other sites that need hosting and my misses needs a place for her art website.

I'm guessing I'll need a microserver of some description (if someone could suggest what I may need that would be great).

Also, how would I go about setting this server up to run as FTP and host a website, I've seen various guides but a lot are fairly outdated, I'd probably run server as server 2008 r2 as I already have the software.

I am totally new to this kind of venture, but if anyone knows how I get started with this kind of project, I would be very appreciative of the assistance!

Caporegime
This needs to go in the HTML section, but am I right in thinking you want a box at home that will store and run a website?

Why not just use a web hosting provider like Vidahost?

Soldato
You can repurpose an old pc. I presume the sites aren't high traffic?

I would also look into whether your broadband T&Cs allow you to run a server. (I presume home bb).

Look into lamp its completely free and installing Wordpress is a simple few clicks. Assuming you don't have a fixed ip you'll need to use a service that redirects your URL to a dynamic IP address.

It can be more hassle than its worth.

Also I would post in the server area as its not really general discussion.

Last edited:
Associate
If your totally new to this then I would recommend Vidahost to.
The hosting and domains cost isnt that much and In my opinion is worth it. they will back up your site, so if anything goes wrong then it can be restored with in 5 mins.