Weird Memory Timing Issue

Associate
Hi,

I came across a weird issue regarding memory timings and wondering if this is normal.

It seems if I make changes to Memory timings (that then show signs of errors during testing) and then I revert back to my last good working "safe" timings, I need to fully shutdown my PC and power back on otherwise I still get errors during testing. A soft reboot doesn't seem to fix it (e.g. Windows Restart -> go into the Bios (set the safe timings) -> Exit Bios -> System Reboots back into Windows). Only a full Windows shutdown seems to clear out the issue. I was testing using Prime95 (26.6) custom blend test using 14GB memory to use because some other tests didn't seem to pick up on the issue e.g Intel Burn Test.

I am new to Memory overclocking/timings but thought this was not expected as haven't seen this mentioned before and thought maybe this could be a motherboard bug? What do you think?

This might be useful for anyone experience similar issue where reboot didn't fix the issue but maybe try full shutdown then power back on instead.

My system is:

Ryzen R7 1700 (overclocked to 3.6Ghz @ 1.200v)
Asus X370 Prime-Pro
16GB DDR4 RAM (Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3600C18)
Windows 10 64-bit

Long description (background):

- RAM is on QVL list rated to support 3200Mhz (DOCP profile).
- RAM is Samsung B die.
- In Bios picked DOCP profile and set for 3200Mhz. The Bios automatically sets timing to 18-19-19-39 (it doesnt set timing for tRC, it leaves it on Auto) and DRAM voltage at 1.35v. Tested successfully PASS of 1 hour Google Memory Stress Test (93% coverage) via Bash on Ubuntu on Windows.
- At this point I am also overclocking the CPU @3.6Ghz @1.187v.
- Then manually set tighter timings 16-17-17-35-52 for 3200Mhz calculated based on XMP profile (3600Mhz 18-19-19-39-58) , it passes Memtest86 v7.4 (7 hours, 4/4 passes) and 1 hour Google Memory Stress Test (93% coverage), and 1 hour of Prime95 (26.6) blend test.