What can you do with Python?

Suspended
As title really, loads of people recommend Python as a starting language, but what could you theoretically code with it? My nephew's looking to code, just trying to get some inspiration for him really.

Associate
I am not a Python developer however I am fairly confident in saying anything you could do in another language is achievable in Python.

How old is your nephew and does he have any prominent hobbies/interests? Working in the domain of something you enjoy is the best way to get inspired/stay motivated.

Associate
Code academy is an excellent tool for new or experienced programmers alike; https://www.codecademy.com/tracks/python

As far as which language to learn, it doesn't matter a huge amount when you start out, it's more important to get a "feel" for programming. Learning a new language isn't too difficult once you have experience with programming in general.

Associate
As a Python developer my answer is: anything

If he wants to write iOS/Android apps then don't choose Python. Otherwise it's a great language.

Soldato
As title really, loads of people recommend Python as a starting language, but what could you theoretically code with it? My nephew's looking to code, just trying to get some inspiration for him really.

How old is he? Might be better to start him programming with Scratch, then move to Python. There's free resources for it and I've recently spotted a Scratch - make a game magazine in Sainsbury's

As a Python developer my answer is: anything

If he wants to write iOS/Android apps then don't choose Python. Otherwise it's a great language.

You can write android and IOS apps in Python using packages such as Kivy.

Caporegime
Python is Turing complete so anything that is computable, see Gödel's incompleteness theorems, turing halting problem and Church's unsolvable Number theory for some limitions.