What would you do?

Suspended
Joined
23 Oct 2003
Posts
580
Location
Cambridge
ive got,

E6600 @ 3200
2gb xms 2
P5W DH Deluxe (oldie but a rock solid @ 1600fsb for 2 years this october)
3870 512 @ 877/2600
19" 1440x900
Raid 0 250gb's

Im finding the 3870 a bit sluggish now for my liking, and ive got 600quid to blast on new parts, i also record alot with fraps, noticed some games get hammerd when fraps is recording, even at half res!

So what would give me some more horse power, another 3870?, can i put a X2 and the 3870 ive got already and crossfire them with this board? or should i wait for the 4000 seris? should i slap a quady in ? im not sure :s give me some help guys lol! or maybe i should slap some fatty watercooling into the rig, and get a nice new case? crank up the mhz's that way? i dunno :o

TIA

Foxor
 
Permabanned
Joined
26 Apr 2008
Posts
4,078
Location
Lincolnshire
afaik crossfire requires 2 of the same card, i am assuming you are not 64bit, but if you are get another 2gb Ram.

otherwise their is nothing wrong with your setup and you would be better holding off till the newer stuff comes out.

if you really must splurge a new monitor maybe?
 
Soldato
Joined
9 May 2005
Posts
7,405
Location
Berkshire
wait for the new cards to come out (dx10.1) imo.

3870 is 10.1

afaik crossfire requires 2 of the same card, i am assuming you are not 64bit, but if you are get another 2gb Ram.

Pretty sure you can run crossfire it with a 3850 if you want to.

I'm pretty much in agreement with aproctor, more ram and a bigger monitor.

Which games are you feeling the grind on btw?
 
Last edited:
Suspended
Joined
23 Oct 2003
Posts
580
Location
Cambridge
3870 is 10.1



Pretty sure you can run crossfire it with a 3850 if you want to.

I'm pretty much in agreement with aproctor, more ram and a bigger monitor.

Which games are you feeling the grind on btw?

The two games i play most atm, Turok, and Project-torque when im recording it its around 50fps, :o but when im not its 70-90ish
 
Soldato
Joined
9 May 2005
Posts
7,405
Location
Berkshire
Well I don't know what to say but 20-30 fps I could sympathise with but 50 fps I couldn't use an excuse to upgrade.

You want to fully star out the swear word btw. Swearing isn't allowed here, although arse is ok.
 
Suspended
Joined
23 Oct 2003
Posts
580
Location
Cambridge
Well I don't know what to say but 20-30 fps I could sympathise with but 50 fps I couldn't use an excuse to upgrade.

You want to fully star out the swear word btw. Swearing isn't allowed here, although arse is ok.

harsh my misses read that, now shes giving me jip :p

But comon, 50fps? i can totaly see the diff from going from 90 to 50, try it or am i just really really fussy?
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Apr 2008
Posts
3,907
Location
Sheffield
As others have said, 2gb extra ram and 20" or 24" monitor.
Anything else than that is just good and will be good for some time yet.

Should last you untill nehalem imo.
 
Top